We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice quiet place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure on Renmin Square Xian

Save Saved
You added Mercure on Renmin Square Xian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure on Renmin Square Xian
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Xi'an, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“a nice quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

i was booked in mercure (not to be confused with grand mercure) at the renmin square. i would say it was a memorable experience. the rooms were very spacious and nicely set. the room service was remarkable

i would like to mention about one bell boy, Andy. he was exceptional and very helpful. he could speak pretty good english, better than the receptionist atleast. so it was easier to get some information out of it.

Room Tip: take the deluxe rooms with 2 separate beds if you are staying more than 1 per room its much better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

I particularly appreciated your giving me the name of people who excelled and it was a great pleasure to share your compliments with Andy. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    207
    62
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
165
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmen,
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night, booked on company rate

I had a late evening flight which was delayed. Called the hotel and they said will keep my reserved room; even told me they would upgrade me free to suite. Upon arrival 1:30am the check-in was quick and efficient.

Room was very spacious and OK. Sleeping quality of the bed Soft (I liked). Shower/bath-combination had powerful water supply; all amenities available. Internet fasts. Breakfast very wide assorted Westerner choice and Chinese choice. TV on suite and bedroom, but did not watch since was late arrive and wanted to go sleep on arrival.

This hotel actually is very well located in the city center, close to Bell towers. It is part of bigger complex with other hotels same group “Sofitel” and “Grand Mercure”. Stayed here 4 years ago in Sofitel. Would choose Mercure next time again… you can make use of all the facilities offered also to Sofitel and Grand Mercure guests; you only have to walk a little bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a luxury hotel zone. Like many hotels in China, has carpet in the room. The bathroom has glass walls, and it has courtains to provide some privacy but you can see the bathroom light from the room anyway.The shower is fixed, there aren't toiletries, and there's a useful cord to hang wet clothes. Our room was quite dark and had a safe box, minibar that worked properly (very useful during summer in Xi'an!). Our room wasn't cleaned during the three days we stayed there. This was not a big inconvenient since we spent the day outside but may become so for longer stays. The plugs, as in almost all hotels in China, are located in inconvenient places. Cleaning is pretty good. The reception staff speak English. Is a bit far but we made good walks everywhere. A big plus is that the Mercure guests can use the pool at the Hotel Sofitel, located right next door. In short, the value for money is very good, since the prices are cheap, but do not expect any luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with 3 friends. we got the extra bed free of charge which is great. the cost per person per night between 3 of us was only around £10. very cheap!

the room is really big, its got comfortable bed, very firm and good to sleep on. there was only 1 very soft pillow on the bed, but asking for extra pillow was no problem.

The bathroom was clean, had 2 showers, one stand alone and one was over the bath tub. There was a bad sewage smell coming from the drains every time the shower is used.

The location of the hotel was good, walking distance to the bell tower area.

The restaurants associated with the hotel is actually located in Sofitel next door. the food was quite nice but slightly pricey.

The hotel staff was helpful in booking taxi's and shows for us. We wanted to go watch traditional Tang dynasty show with dumpling feast. the hotel confirmed the booking, but when we got to the show, the staff there said we could not have the dumpling feast as it required 24 hour prior booking. the hotel staff never informed us of that. which was a disappointment for me.

catching a taxi into town from hotel was tough, as there seem to be a shortage of taxi's in Xi'an. the hotel staff can only get a taxi for us if the taxi had dropped somebody off at the hotel. so sometimes we had to wait for over half an hour for a taxi.

The hotel had no problem getting us taxi to go to Terracotta warriors and to the airport. We had to book half a day or day before with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is centrally located between two major locations: the historic center of Xi'an and the Xi'an Railway Station from which buses leave for various tourist attractions, including the Terracotta Warriors. A walk to either took us about 30 minutes with no luggage and about 40 minutes when we were pulling a roll-on bag with us. Of course, alternatively there are numerous taxis and motorized tricycles ready to save you the walk. The hotel complex did not have a shuttle or any other service between Renmin Square and the Bell Tower or the Xi'an Railway Station where you could conveniently get an airport bus.

Renmin Square has a main entrance on Xinjie Street (Dong). When you go in, the Mercure is a walk to your right and then in down a side street to building 3.

The staff at reception we dealt with during our stay were all pleasant, cooperative, helpful and spoke good English. The receptionist on our arrival gave us a room on the fifth floor away from the lifts-elevators. The 4th and 5th floors have only four rooms on either side of the two lifts which are separated by a lounge area with a staircase in front.

The entrance area to the room and the bathroom were tiled; the living area was carpeted. When we entered, we noticed that the management had provided a small bowl of fruit, which was both a pleasant surprise and an appreciated welcome gesture.

The entranceway had a single, narrow closet to one side with a sliding door. (Our sliding closet door would not close because a loose screw projected up from the floor; alas, we did not have anything to screw it back down with.)

The closet contained a high shelf, clothes rack with six hangers, a safe attached to a low shelf and a drawer underneath. The hotel provided two dressing gowns-bathrobes for use during the stay and two pairs of cloth slippers. There was sufficient clear vertical space to hang a shirt or blouse but not enough for any full-length garment, the bottom of which would crumple on the top of the safe. The safe was large enough for a full-size laptop plus other smaller items.

The room was comfortably furnished, clean and well maintained; however, it betrayed the effects of regular use, especially the bathroom (which had a lot of new caulking wherever tiles and counters abutted), and made poor use of available space. We thought that the time had arrived for Accor to refurbish the room and to use a designer who could choose and place furniture for greater convenience and practicality.

Dark furnishings made the room seem cramped and smaller than it actually was. If Accor ever did renovate, the room would be more inviting and seem more spacious if Accor used light colors throughout and space-efficient furniture.

Generally, the room had adequate space for two people to move around and to place two roll-on cabin bags out of the way (between a work desk and a cabinet with a television on top); however, overall there was insufficient storage space. The room was good for the basics of sleeping, showering and keeping one's belongings for a stay of a few days, but less so for a longer stay.

The work desk had a desk lamp, Ethernet cable (Internet worked faster using the cable rather than WiFi) and two drawers; however, there was floor space available for a larger desk providing more work area. The desk chair had soft cushioning, so one tended to sink into it.

The cabinet next to the desk had an older, cathode ray tube television providing around 50 channels, mostly in Chinese but with several in other languages, mainly in English but with one or two in Japanese and Korean. The time had arrived for Accor to replace the television set: sound on it would vary in volume for some inexplicable reason. One could obtain the original volume by changing to another channel and then returning to the original channel; shortly after the variable volume would reappear.

Inside the cabinet was a bar fridge with beverages for purchase at inflated prices. We emptied the fridge and used it for beverages we bought at supermarkets we found in stores and malls on the main shopping street Jiefang Road two blocks away. The other side of the cabinet contained the coffee-tea making facilities. The cabinet could have been bigger to provide additional counter space, which we found insufficient throughout the bedroom and bathroom. We unpacked minimally, as necessary, during our stay and still found the available storage and counter space inadequate. To the left of the cabinet was a luggage stand on which to place a suitcase.

The king size platform bed had a very firm mattress (too hard for the comfort of my partner), four very soft pillows (a bit too soft for me, so I added the extra one stored on the top shelf of the closet), and two bedside tables with reading lamps — one table with a telephone and a clock. The bedside tables each had a drawer and an open space below. You could control the room lighting from several switches on one side of the bed.

In the corner of the room was a floor lamp with an easy chair and ottoman in front of it. The air conditioning worked reliably and efficiently. Housekeeping was regular, thorough, efficient and reliable.

The room window had an outside, openable, single-glazed window. Some light, occasional street traffic noises did enter the room but nothing bothersome, as Shangde Road outside was a one-way street which carried limited traffic, and the room overlooked a vacant lot on the other side.

The room suffered from the usual weakness of hotel rooms almost everywhere in the world of admitting the noise of activities in the corridor outside, in this case mainly slamming doors and cleaners going about their work.

The bathroom had a full set of toiletries and a hair dryer. The shower stall had a liquid shampoo-soap dispenser attached to the wall. The shower head was not adjustable and sprayed water directly where the shower door opened. The shower stall leaked water onto the bathroom floor outside, which we absorbed and mopped up using the bathmat (daily, the cleaner left us a dry replacement). The shower stall had a full-height, transparent glass partition common to the bedroom. Privacy was provided by a full-height, wooden-slat Venetian blind on the outside (bedroom side).

The wash basin was a bowl sitting on a counter, which limited the usable space for placing items. The outlet to the tap-faucet was four inches from the top of the drain plug (the type one pushes down to close and pushes down again to open). The outlet of the faucet was angled at 45 degrees and rotated around the horizontal axis. This arrangement was unusual and a bit awkward, if not very practical or convenient. Solid soap was provided but no soap dish on which to place wet soap.

When the "Azur Wine & Dine" restaurant is open between 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., you can walk through to the opposite side and conveniently exit Renmin Square to the corner of Xinjie Street and Shangde Road. This short cut will put you a block away from Jiefang Road which has several malls and a department store, some with a supermarket inside, and restaurants. If you do not want to bother finding a city restaurant, you can eat at one of the several different restaurants in the Renmin Square hotel complex.

At the intersection of Xinjie Street and Jiefang Road there is Ren Ren Le shopping center with a KFC outlet outside, and inside a very basic food court on the ground level and a hypermarket on the upper floor. Farther up Jiefang Road, toward Xi'an Railway Station, is Minsheng Department Store (which has a high-end supermarket in the basement), Wanda Plaza, Happy Mall, and New-Mart Shopping Mall (across the street).

The New-Mart mall has a food court on the top floor where you can choose dishes from the plastic models on display, pay at a central counter with a cashier, return with and give the vendor a card holding credit for your payment, and order your selection. Note that you have to pay a refundable deposit for the card in addition to the price of the food, so return it for your refund. In the basement of New-Mart mall there is another, more-basic food court and a regular supermarket.

Being frugal, we used the airport bus from and to the airport, a trip of around an hour via expressway and then through suburban streets. One bus goes to Xi'an Railway Station, another goes to the Melody Hotel in the middle of town.

When you walk out of the airport terminal, cross over the road into the parking-bus terminal opposite. At the counter to the left of the entrance, buy a bus ticket, and then go to the entrance at the side which leads to the ticket checker and the bays from which the buses leave.

The staff at the ticket counter knew sufficient English to be able to tell us which bus to take. The service to the railway station drops you closer to, and also more conveniently, to Renmin Square and the hotel. From the plaza where the airport bus arrives, it is easier to walk down Shangde Road as it carries less traffic, being one way towards the station, and taking you down the side of Renmin Square to Xinjie Street where you turn right to find the main entrance of the square.

If you arrive at the Melody Hotel, you have to orient yourself in the correct direction, and then walk along West Street past the tourist office across a plaza (drop in for a map if it is open) and the Drum Tower to the Bell Tower, turn left onto North Street and then turn right onto Xinxin Street, which becomes Xinjie Street and takes you past a police station and the Shaanxi People's Government complex to Renmin Square and the Accor hotel and restaurant complex

It is worth learning how to use the bus system as the metro-subway system is limited at present to a north-south and an east-west line; however, the metro map we had showed a complex web of lines under, or planned for, construction. You can find a lot of bus information, such as routes, schedules and fares, on http://www.travelchinaguide.com/cityguides/xian/transportation/town-bus.htm

Tourist Line bus 5 (number 306) to the Terracotta Warriors leaves from the plaza in front of the railway station. The trip is supposed to take about 40 minutes. If there is a long queue of people waiting, you can take either bus 914 or 915; however, these take much longer. To avoid a long queue, we took the 914 there and back: the trip out took 70 minutes out and 75 minutes back. For a one-time excursion, we found it interesting because it took us on a tour of urban-suburban Xi'an.

When you arrive at the parking area of the museum complex, do not proceed up the avenue lined with souvenir sellers as this is the exit route from the four major buildings. At the exit gates you will find touts willing to sell you admission tickets for the official price of 150 yuan plus 10 yuan, the minimum "convenience charge" they will accept; otherwise, you will have a long walk back to the parking area to find the ticket office. The ticket office is recessed and partially hidden immediately to the right as you go in from the parking area.

We noticed that the Google street map and the satellite map do not correspond precisely when you switch from one to the other.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very smooth experience at the Mercure. Rooms are outdated but everything was in working order. Nothing luxurious, but easy hassle-free access to Sofitel facilities next door. This includes pool, gym and many restaurant choices. We ate at the Brazilian churasco and were glad to have western quality meat.

Staff at hotel were pleasant.

Breakfast buffet was worth the money for our family of four.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Mercure On Remin Square May of this year. We booked through Otel.com for a DBL/Twin Superior with B'fast included. On arrival we were upgraded free of charge to a suite. The accommodation was clean ,comfortable and spacious.There was a good choice of western and chinese dishes for breakfast but unfortunately the hot food was only lukewarm. As we had an early flight on our departure from Xian , the hotel pre-arranged a boxed breakfast for us to take to the airport - this was excellent !. The hotel is about 20mins easy walk into the city . We did not eat dinner at the hotel but visited one of the food courts in the Shopping Mall on the Bell Tower intersection for a quick cheap but filling meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback on the breakfast is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure on Renmin Square Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure on Renmin Square Xian

Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian China/Shaanxi
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#51 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure on Renmin Square Xian 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Mercure on Renmin Square Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.