We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good idea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 445 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good idea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amidst the chaos and challenges of Xi'an, this hotel is an oasis of peace and comfort. Definitely recommended as an option for visiting the terrcotta army. Note the airport is an hour away at least and RMB120++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    221
    71
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
189
45
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is very nice, location is good and they share the complex with sofitel.
Rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast is okay, not good as expected for a mercure hotel but the price is really good compared to other hotels in town.
Worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Greated with a very warm welcome by the staff. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast selection was very good, both chinese and english, only ate chinese though. Chioce of fruit that you could take with you. The concierge was very helpful in getting us our taxi and explaining to us that it was illegal for taxis to enter the railway/bus station and that he would tell the driver to take us as close to the station as possible, which he did.

Room Tip: Very quiet location, we were on the 3rd floor with a view over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changzhou, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and were very happy with the service and accommodation. The staff were all friendly and faculties are all close by. I recommend this hotel to anyone... couples, families, friends :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Mercure Xian is located in a lovely gated complex that is filled with much fancier hotels -- the Grand Mercure, the Sofitel and others. It's like the "little sister" to these other hotels. This means a traveler gets the same ambiance for a much lower price. Mercure is a lovely boutique hotel. Nice lounges on each floor; hearty breakfast buffett and friendly English-speaking staff. And, if you want to hang out at a fanicer bar, the Sofitel (with its higher room rates) is right next door. My room was stylish, Internet worked well and had all the amenities. I'd return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at the Xian Mercure Hotel for 4 nights in a standard double bed. Its small as any normal business hotel in large cities are. However, room was clean and well-kept. However, a couple of things I disliked. There were a few moths in the bathroom but luckily, they did not get into the room and disturb my sleep. Pillows are a bit soft, not too fluffy. The shower area was quite small, no shampoo/conditioner, and bottom tiles in the shower was kind of dirty. Im kind of a stickler on cleanliness and the shower tiles just made me want to get in and get out of the shower. Pros of this hotel. It is super convenient as its located close to the Train station (so easy to take the 306 bus to the TerraCotta sites). I visited Xian in December so it was super cold and the heater in my room worked very well. There is also HBO, National Geo, and Discovery on the CRT TV so that was good for me. Also, all Taxi Drivers know this Hotel Area so you don't have to spend 10 mins to the driver about this and that. Overall, its a good hotel to do your business in Xian and come back and sleep (place is quiet since hotel is inside a business park). If price is competitive in the future, I would stay again! However, if I come as a family, I would search elsewheres

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our wonderful stay in Xian started off with a warm welcome from the reception staff at The Mercure on Renmin Square and an upgrade to a deluxe king room. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was huge! It was comfortable and dressed with good quality linen. And most importantly, excellent pillows. We usually travel with our own pillows but had unfortunately not packed them on this occasion - not a cause for concern at The Renmin. The bathroom was clean with the bath and the shower contained in a wet room. In the morning I left our room without closing our bedroom door properly and wandered off down the corridor to breakfast, an alarm alerted me to this issue and I went back and secured our room. Plenty of choices at breakfast both Western and Asian. After a busy day out exploring, we were too tired to venture out again looking for a meal so we ate at The Sofitel - turned out to be a wise decision had a great meal, good service from the staff and were able to charge it back to our room. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Renmin it is four star service at three star prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#40 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.