We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with beautiful landscape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 2,187 Hotels in Xi'an
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with beautiful landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the hotel and we loved the room which was clean and comfy. The breakfast selection was good although we were restricted to only fruits, vegetable, breads and cereals being the halal ones.
The hotel is in a large compound sharing some facilities with Sofitel and also Grand Mercure. The landscape had a nice fountain which we thought was lovely. The reception staff was helpful in getting us a very reliable cab and driver for hire who took us to the Terracota Warriors and Horse Museum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shopaholic_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
SIN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of three hotels in the same compound, this is the lowest cost offering. I do not know why you would choose one of the others since they all share the same facilities. This building is a refurbished Communist Party hotel and it shows in the interesting architecture and decor. Rooms were clean and up-to-date and the compound was very very quiet and peaceful. The staff was helpful with recommendations on dining and outing options. Restaurants and bars were all located in the other hotel buildings in the compound meaning a bit of a walk for breakfast or dinner but not a big deal at all. The compound location is out a bit from the tourist sites within Xi'an but we both walked and took cabs without any problems.

We did have a negative experience in the buffet restaurant ordering off of the a la carte menu when my vegetarian wife ordered the specifically labeled *vegetarian* Xi'an style noodles and they came with minced pork. Noticed about 3 bites in! She was understandably upset but the management handled the situation very professionally. The restaurant manager took care of the problem immediately and there was a phone message from the food and beverage manager for all three hotels on our phone when we got back to our room. He followed up with us personally the next day to ensure the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. The screw-up was basic and should not have happened at such a high-end establishment but the manager owned up to the issue and addressed it head-on. I travel quite a bit for business and I can say I was very impressed with the professionalism exhibited by the Singaporean F&B manager. We would not (and did not) hesitate to go back.

Overall very good quality and value for money in Xi'an. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_Mtn_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Mercure is one of three Accor properties sharing this Renmin Square locating inside the Walls of the City. The Mercure, is the lowest cost of the three- the others bieng the Sofitel and Grand Mercure, but shared facilities including dining and business center were available at the Sofitel property.
The Reception staff and conceirge were more than helpful in helping me with translations for taxi's and giving me a realistic idea of transportation costs to various spots.

The room was clean, plenty large, and had everything needed to make a comfortable stay.

My main reason for visiting was to see the Terracotta Warriors and I wasn't disappointed. I also fully enjoyed visits to the Muslim Market, and ad evening at the Big Goose Pagoda. Actually my favorite of the 3 cities I visited in China on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is hotel is good with a great location. In the same complex you also find Sofitel and Grand Mercure hotels. Due to this, there is no restaurant at the hotel, if you want to eat, you must go to Sofitel or order the room service. The breakfast is the unique service provided by the hotel, which is complete (Chinese and Ocidental foods).

The Executive room I´ve choose, is very spacious with working area, TV area and the beds well distributed. As I´ve asked one extra bed, there was a lot of space for it. The regular and extra beds are very conforatable and you can relax after a busy day.

The good point is the bathroom that have shower and bathtub with another shower separeted (I hate take a shower in a bathtub). The hotel is very clean and the staff very polite, speaking English very understandable.

In the area you can´t find easy reastaurants or taxis, so you should ask one at the hotel to drive you to the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

In the middle with the Sofitel one side and the Grand Mercure on the other in Remnin Square. Peaceful and safe with great reception staff who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast here was fantastic once again able to fill up and keep going most of the day. The hotel is close to a large Shopping Mall around the corner and several other shops although a good 20 min walk from the Muslim Quarter. We had a lovely room although on the ground floor was peaceful and clean and would recommend this place to anyone as you are able to access the facilities of the Sofitel across the road which includes a Business Centre, Resteraunts and Cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the mecure for one night as we wanted to do a stop over and see the terracotta warriors.
The hotel is located in the renmin square with several other hotels, which is quite handy as we popped over to one of the bars and restaurants for dinner.
The hotel staff were really helpful and spoke good English, taxis to the terracotta are cheap and take approx 1 hour to get too, but the hotel can get you a taxis if you ask.
On a free day we explored the city walls on foot and came across lots of street markets all walk able distance from the hotel. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend if your on a stop over.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We flew in late from Beijing and arrived at the Mercure, Xian around 11pm. The reception staff were very friendly and considerate. They organised a private tour of the Terracotta Army museum for us for 8am the next day !!!
The rooms are clean and modern.
Very good value for money.
Hotel is around 10 mins from central Xian.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#7 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.9 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#17 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#73 of 2,187 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#28 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#60 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing