We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location in a bustling city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure on Renmin Square Xian

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Mercure on Renmin Square Xian
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
SIN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet location in a bustling city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of three hotels in the same compound, this is the lowest cost offering. I do not know why you would choose one of the others since they all share the same facilities. This building is a refurbished Communist Party hotel and it shows in the interesting architecture and decor. Rooms were clean and up-to-date and the compound was very very quiet and peaceful. The staff was helpful with recommendations on dining and outing options. Restaurants and bars were all located in the other hotel buildings in the compound meaning a bit of a walk for breakfast or dinner but not a big deal at all. The compound location is out a bit from the tourist sites within Xi'an but we both walked and took cabs without any problems.

We did have a negative experience in the buffet restaurant ordering off of the a la carte menu when my vegetarian wife ordered the specifically labeled *vegetarian* Xi'an style noodles and they came with minced pork. Noticed about 3 bites in! She was understandably upset but the management handled the situation very professionally. The restaurant manager took care of the problem immediately and there was a phone message from the food and beverage manager for all three hotels on our phone when we got back to our room. He followed up with us personally the next day to ensure the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. The screw-up was basic and should not have happened at such a high-end establishment but the manager owned up to the issue and addressed it head-on. I travel quite a bit for business and I can say I was very impressed with the professionalism exhibited by the Singaporean F&B manager. We would not (and did not) hesitate to go back.

Overall very good quality and value for money in Xi'an. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    207
    62
    9
    5
See reviews for
68
165
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Mercure is one of three Accor properties sharing this Renmin Square locating inside the Walls of the City. The Mercure, is the lowest cost of the three- the others bieng the Sofitel and Grand Mercure, but shared facilities including dining and business center were available at the Sofitel property.
The Reception staff and conceirge were more than helpful in helping me with translations for taxi's and giving me a realistic idea of transportation costs to various spots.

The room was clean, plenty large, and had everything needed to make a comfortable stay.

My main reason for visiting was to see the Terracotta Warriors and I wasn't disappointed. I also fully enjoyed visits to the Muslim Market, and ad evening at the Big Goose Pagoda. Actually my favorite of the 3 cities I visited in China on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is hotel is good with a great location. In the same complex you also find Sofitel and Grand Mercure hotels. Due to this, there is no restaurant at the hotel, if you want to eat, you must go to Sofitel or order the room service. The breakfast is the unique service provided by the hotel, which is complete (Chinese and Ocidental foods).

The Executive room I´ve choose, is very spacious with working area, TV area and the beds well distributed. As I´ve asked one extra bed, there was a lot of space for it. The regular and extra beds are very conforatable and you can relax after a busy day.

The good point is the bathroom that have shower and bathtub with another shower separeted (I hate take a shower in a bathtub). The hotel is very clean and the staff very polite, speaking English very understandable.

In the area you can´t find easy reastaurants or taxis, so you should ask one at the hotel to drive you to the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

In the middle with the Sofitel one side and the Grand Mercure on the other in Remnin Square. Peaceful and safe with great reception staff who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast here was fantastic once again able to fill up and keep going most of the day. The hotel is close to a large Shopping Mall around the corner and several other shops although a good 20 min walk from the Muslim Quarter. We had a lovely room although on the ground floor was peaceful and clean and would recommend this place to anyone as you are able to access the facilities of the Sofitel across the road which includes a Business Centre, Resteraunts and Cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the mecure for one night as we wanted to do a stop over and see the terracotta warriors.
The hotel is located in the renmin square with several other hotels, which is quite handy as we popped over to one of the bars and restaurants for dinner.
The hotel staff were really helpful and spoke good English, taxis to the terracotta are cheap and take approx 1 hour to get too, but the hotel can get you a taxis if you ask.
On a free day we explored the city walls on foot and came across lots of street markets all walk able distance from the hotel. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend if your on a stop over.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We flew in late from Beijing and arrived at the Mercure, Xian around 11pm. The reception staff were very friendly and considerate. They organised a private tour of the Terracotta Army museum for us for 8am the next day !!!
The rooms are clean and modern.
Very good value for money.
Hotel is around 10 mins from central Xian.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I went to Xi'an for a long weekend with our 5 month old daughter. The hotel was excellent to us. All staff were very friendly and professional and helped us every chance they could, for example with an extra hand while we cared for the baby or bringing us things from the buffet at breakfast when we had the baby in our arms. They also provided, for free, a beautiful wooden baby crib with sheets and blankets. It was very safe and good quality. Our baby slept really well, which was a relief! When we went to the Cantonese restaurant in the hotel complex late when we got in, they gave us a baby seat and 3 staff helped entertain the baby while we ate. What service!

Room Tip: Ask for a baby cot, they are very nice and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure on Renmin Square Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure on Renmin Square Xian

Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian China/Shaanxi
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#51 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure on Renmin Square Xian 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Mercure on Renmin Square Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure on Renmin Square Xian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mercure on Renmin Square Xian to your Saves list