We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one complain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Save Saved
You added Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just one complain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only complain I have about this hotel is the location. It is far from the subway station. The Xian Railway Station is around 20 - 25 minutes walk. Apart from location, the hotel room was very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    211
    67
    9
    7
See reviews for
70
177
42
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My recent two-night stay at this property couldn't have been much better. I agree with the other reviews that there is no need to stay in the more expensive Grand Mercure or Sofitel, which are both on the same property. A room at the more budget-friendly Mercure provides access to the other two hotels' restaurants and amenities.

My room at the Mercure (3313) was clean, comfortable, and well appointed, though I will say I'm not a fan of the hard beds (which seem to be the norm in China) or of the body wash in the shower that doubles as soap, shampoo and conditioner (a typical European hotel feature).

The hotel itself is a short walk from the Bell Tower, Drum Tower, Great Mosque, and their surrounding markets (though I will say I got turned around leaving the hotel square and wandered off in the wrong direction the first time I tried to find them).

The hotel staff is helpful, though none of them knew that both the Bell & Drum Towers were closed indefinitely to visitors or that the hot springs near the Terracotta Warriors were being renovated and were not open to visitors (this was disappointing after the hotel staff so highly recommended them).

The breakfast buffet (included in the price of mine room) was excellent and provided an extensive mix of both Western and Chinese food options. The two restaurants I dined at on the property--Le Chinois (Chinese) and Azur (Mediterranean)--were very good and reasonably priced. I especially liked Le Chinois.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, though next time I may try staying closer to the Bell & Drum Towers, which is definitely where all the action is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musswellbrook
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited Xi'an for two days and stayed at the Mecure Xi'an on Renman Square. We were a little disappointed to find that we were placed in a smoking room despite requesting and being told on arrival that it was a non smoking room. (Interesting considering the room had an ashtray and matches provided and smelt terribly of cigarette.) Upon request we were moved to a room on a non smoking floor. It still had a slight cigarette smell so we ended up paying for an upgrade to a suite which was a lot better.
The hotel is fine, however is a little dated and has a distinct odor of cigarettes. Staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was great and we had easy access to the restaurant facilities of the Sofitel, two of which we tried and both were excellent (the Japanese restaurant and the newly opened Brazilian one). All in all it was a mixed experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good location, helpful staff, free wifi, close to historic district, close to railway station, from which buses to Teracota Army leave. No eating and shopping possibilities nearby.
Hotel is too dull, looks more like european hotel. But rooms are realy huge.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is in a private complex along with two higher end Accor hotels. The room was compact yet well appointed with a good shower (much appreciated after the August heat). It's about a 15 minute walk to the bell tower and even closer to the vibrant streets of the Muslim Quarter.

The staff were always friendly and polite and able to organise tours with minimal fuss. Definitely a place to stay if spending some time in Xi'an without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Dominica
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Mercure on Renmin Square in Xi'an is part of a larger complex of Accor hotels including the Grand Mercure and the Sofitel. Overall, to us the hotel was kind of a mixed bag with lots of great things about it and some things we did not care for. I will break it down here:

Location: Renmin Square is actually a great location within the city walls and you can get to everything by walking. It was only 10-15 minutes to everything we wanted to do or see including the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and to the main bus station area where we caught a local bus up to the warriors. Plus, if you need a late night bite to eat, your right next door to the Sofitel and the grounds are super safe to walk around day or night.

Room: The room was much smaller then I had envisioned with just enough room for the king size bed, a tiny closet and a small desk and small bathroom. As with most hotel beds in China, this one was quiet firm but that was no surprise to me. The bathroom was a shower only and quiet cramped but it got the job done. For the two nights we were there, the room served it's purpose well.

Food: We only had breakfast which was served buffet style in a large banquet room on one of the upper floors. Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised by the spread and the staff were very accommodating in helping us with anything we needed.

Staff: Overall, the staff were all very friendly and everyone was smiling and always willing to help with anything that we needed. At times there was a language barrier, but overall the staff spoke english well and we were able to get our needs met immediately.

Overall, for a western hotel chain and the price, this hotel was a steal. Plus add on the great location and the great service, and you have a great place to stay while viewing the warriors

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I visited the Shaanxi/Henan region over the course of a week , using Xi'an as a base between locations. Because I was coming and going, I happened to stay in the three Accure group hotels in Renmin Square on three separate nights - the Sofitel, the Grand Mercure and the Mercure. I've seen a couple of reviews recommending one over the other, and given my experience I have quickly compared and contrasted the experiences below.

As background, all of the Accure Group hotels are located in Renmin Square which rather than being a proper public square or intersection is actually a gated area with just the hotels. It's about a 15 minute walk to the old city wall in one direction and about a 20 minute walk to the Bell Tower district in the other direction. It's central, but not in the middle of things. There are always taxis waiting outside, so it's never a problem to hop into one. Guests at any of the three hotels can use the facilities at the Sofitel (pool, gym, bar, restaurants, spa), which is great for those at the Grand Mercure and Mercure. Guests staying at the Grand Mercure and Mercure can upgrade their breakfasts to the Sofitel breakfast, which is recommended for those who like a good breakfast.

The Sofitel is obviously the nicest - and most expensive - property. As you would expect, the hotel is very new, the rooms are large, the bathrooms luxurious and the entire place very tastefully decorated. There is a pool (which was not crowded at the times I wanted to use it), a bar, and a number of nice restaurants. The breakfast buffet is Western oriented and top class, with great coffee, wonderful fruit, a huge selection of hot food, jams, breads, etc. The service is fine, and whilst the staff doesn't necessarily go out of their way to go above and beyond the call of duty they will assist with anything you need. My conclusion: given the price, this makes sense for people who don't care too much about spending money, people who need extra assistance from the concierge to plan other legs of their journey, and people who really value a good breakfast (although guests at the other hotels can "upgrade" their breakfast to the Sofitel for a small extra charge).

The Grand Mercure is the mid range option, and is quite a large step down from the Sofitel. Whilst it is very clean and comfortable, it is certainly not flash, the decor is feels like it must be about 20 years old and the whole place smells of cigarette smoke. The staff are friendly, but don't bother asking the concierge-slash-bell boy to do anything but store your bags for you. The breakfast is fine, with a lot of options and decent coffee. My conclusion: Not any better than the Mercure (see below) unless you really value more options at breakfast (in which case you should stay at the Mercure and pay the extra to upgrade to the Sofitel breakfast).

The Mercure the budget option of the three, it is more or less on a par with the Grand Mercure except it feels positioned as slightly more downmarket (there are posters on the wall rather than paintings), the rooms are smaller (not a problem from my perspective), and the breakfast is not as good (the coffee was pretty bad, the fruit certainly not great). It is extremely clean, extremely comfortable and actually feels fresher than the Grand Mercure. My conclusion: Of the three hotels, value for money is definitely the Mercure. I would recommend staying here, and for those that like a nice breakfast paying the extra charge to upgrade to the Sofitel breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#47 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.