We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Nights!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xian Skytel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xian Skytel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Noisy Nights!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel was average. Roomy and clean enough. When I was there the hotel was right beside a night club (maybe even in the same complex but not sure of that. I didn't know that when I booked. I'm a pretty easy sleeper but it was just loud music well into the morning hours. It's too bad because otherwise the hotel is perfectly located within a short walk to many main attractions, the airport shuttle bus stop and the subway. I guess you can try to make it work but there is probably something in the same price range without the noise issue.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if there is a quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    104
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
33
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Wish I could have stayed for longer. Staff were great - didn't have to ask for WIFI password, where to have breakfast or where the lifts were. Fantastic central location within minutes of shopping and food stalls. Also those rickshaw vehicles are just out the front door. Xian is made for pedestrians very easy to get around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Review Xian Skytel

Location: The Skytel is located next to the Louis Vuitton shop in Xian. On my first visit to Xian in 1986 there were zero private shops. The Skytel is on the southern leg of the main cross streets that mark the center of Xian, capital of China for 14 dynasties.

I spent one night at the Skytel because there is no direct flights from Lhasa to Hong Kong on the same day. Arriving at Xian airport I took the big airport bus to the Bell Tower, the very center of Xian, 26 yuan. To get to Skytel a guy put me in the back of his Vaspa-like motorcycle, my 29-inch hardside suitcase and my 22-inch hardside carry on in front of him and off we went. The ride was like six minutes. He wanted 10 yuan but it was such an adventure I gave him 15. Going back to the airport I had Skytel arrange a private car for 150 yuan.

Skytel is ultra-modern. The bed was adequate. The room has a control panel for lights which did not work very well. The wi-fi is free and worked quite well. I had to clear 299 emails. There is a sign for available massage. What is 'free massage' for 500 yuan?

The staff was anxious to help. But of the ladies at the front desk only one knew what to do. Even she had to call about what my voucher mean.

I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet for 35 yuan.

I recommend the Skytel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 8th November. The location is the best as it is near the malls & the shopping area. Bell & Drum tower is near the hotel. But the rooms are very small. The bathroom walls are of glass with no curtains. That is the biggest problem if you are with children. Apart from the bathroom problem the hotel is very good.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Skytel was very central, so close to the Drum Tower you could walk to the place. We were comfortable, and the Staff were courteous, though could not understand English! The usual outer bathroom wall in frosted glass..........is this the style today? Reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When we arrived in Xian it was late and the first hotel we were given was abysmal(Xian city) our tour company then moved us to this hotel what a difference the location was superb with comfortable beds, good food, friendly staff, exchange desk etc, we had a great time here great value for money would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yes, it's old (ex Prince Hotel), and yes the rooms are tired and a little "Quality Inn" old school style, but the friendliness of the English speaking staff (many ex Sofitel), and the lovely attempts of the Chinese speaking staff to improve and make the experience more comfortable, combined with it's absolutely stunning location adjacent to the Bell Tower with western conveniences and historical quarters surrounding make up for the stale issues. Value for money it's OK.

The rooms need a massive upgrade/renovation to be consistent with 4 star + style hotels. Group operators often put groups of tourists in the hotel because of pricing. For a mid range hotel in a spectacular location, it cannot be beaten,

So if you can live with a little old school style, you will save a bucket of money staying here.

I typically ONLY stay in 5 star hotels, but on this occasion, I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (see my photos), it wasn't bad at all for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#53 of 1,989 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#46 of 1,989 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
City Center, Po...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#109 of 1,989 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#28 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#46 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Skytel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.