We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western 3 star trying hard to become 4 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xian Skytel Hotel to your Saves list
Xian Skytel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 2,043 Hotels in Xi'an
Shanghai
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Western 3 star trying hard to become 4 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yes, it's old (ex Prince Hotel), and yes the rooms are tired and a little "Quality Inn" old school style, but the friendliness of the English speaking staff (many ex Sofitel), and the lovely attempts of the Chinese speaking staff to improve and make the experience more comfortable, combined with it's absolutely stunning location adjacent to the Bell Tower with western conveniences and historical quarters surrounding make up for the stale issues. Value for money it's OK.

The rooms need a massive upgrade/renovation to be consistent with 4 star + style hotels. Group operators often put groups of tourists in the hotel because of pricing. For a mid range hotel in a spectacular location, it cannot be beaten,

So if you can live with a little old school style, you will save a bucket of money staying here.

I typically ONLY stay in 5 star hotels, but on this occasion, I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (see my photos), it wasn't bad at all for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    106
    55
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
34
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Modiin,Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent one night at the Skytel. It was arranged by the travel agency. The location is good. The room was not clean, maintenance was not good. The staff had trouble with English. Breakfast was manly Chinese type with few western items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It is a shame that the cleanliness and poor maintainence has let this hotel down as it is in a good location and has a nice decor. However, we could not look past the lack of cleanliness in the hotel. The bathroom sink and bench were not cleaned properly and there was a cigarette butt on the bathroom floor. The carpets were stained and there was much damage to the walls and furniture. The breakfast room was also very dirty. Dirty floor, I picked up a dirty plate to put my food on and the tables were not cleared of food scraps after they were used. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrouge, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite centrally located - within walking distance to the bell tower and the south city gate. But it is small. OK for two persons. We had an extra bed added and we didn't have much room after we opened our luggages. Comfort-wise it is OK but not much to offer.

Breakfast is the same everyday. The chefs seemed to lack imagination. There are better hotels. Frankly, if I were to go to Xian again, I would not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Two of my colleagues and I stayed in this hotel from July 20 to July 23. It was a business trip, actually we made quite a online search and consult some local friends in Xi'an before going. Eventually, we booked the Skytel Hotel mostly because of its perfect central location. It is on the South Main Street within the City Wall. It is 3-5 minutes’ walk to the South Main Gate of the City Wall if you walk south, and 5-9 minutes’ walk to the Bell Tower towards north. And what's more, if you keep walk further northwest from the Bell Tower, in 10 more minutes, you get the famous Muslim Quarter with the Big Muslim Bazaar and the Great Mosque. Behind the hotel building, there is a large super market named Huarun Wanjia Super-market and the Defuxiang Bar Street. There are many noodle and jiaozi restaurants around it.

Its breakfast is on the second floor, quite a various of choice, simply but good taste.

There is free WIFI in every corner. Their people are friendly and helpful.

The only disadvantage in my eyes is the size of the rooms, little bit small. For large size people, better think about it.

Room Tip: Better ask them clearly about the type of rooms as this hotel have quite different types of rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This quite reasonably-priced hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Bell Tower, the Drum Tower, the Muslim Quarter and the South Gate of the ancient city wall. There are plenty of eating, shopping and sightseeing opportunities at close hand -- and the subway entrance is only about a block away. For price and convenience you can't beat the Skytel Hotel.

The hotel itself is decent enough, with courteous staff who speak at least a little English. The rooms are very small, but quite clean. Our bed was typically hard, but comfortable, and the staff quickly accommodated our request for additional pillows.

The wi-fi in the room worked well, and CNN was available on the flat-screen TV. There are no safes in the room or refrigerators, but there is an electric kettle, complimentary bottled water, packets of tea and the ever-present Nescafe!

We had breakfast daily at the hotel's upstairs dining room. The food was certainly passable, with both Chinese and western options. All were mostly indifferently prepared and none very hot, but the price was great and you could eat your fill of pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit if you didn't care for the cooked options.

There is also a little coffee shop adjacent the lobby, but we did not check it out so I can't recommend one way or the other.

The air conditioning worked sporadically at best, so we did find ourselves uncomfortably warm much of the time -- and we were there in May, so I imagine that July and August could really be brutal. (I've also heard other travelers complain about the cold in the winter, which makes we think the hotel's entire HVAC system and/or insulation is sorely lacking.)

Hot water in the shower was plentiful, but as many other travelers have pointed out, there is a serious lack of bathroom privacy. There is no door to the bathroom; only a windowed dividing wall separates it from the bedroom. The toilet and shower stalls are all glass, and are true stalls in that the glass stops a few feet short of the ceiling so there isn't even any sound barrier. To top it off there is a mirror on the wall adjacent the shower, so anyone in the shower is pretty much on full display (which can be a good or bad thing, depending on your particular bent).

If you're traveling on your own, or with someone you're comfortable sharing all your bathroom rituals with, then this hotel is a very good option for both its convenience and affordability. It's not fancy but perfectly respectable, though I might caution staying there in either extremely cold or hot weather. With those caveats in place, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overrated hotel, tries to establish a businesslike atmosphere. The rooms are ok, the staff friendly. But only a few can speak english. We had a few problems with the two rooms we rented. Toilets din't flush and a fridge wasn't working. It took quite some effort to get some action, although in the end, they get the job done.
The restaurant is to be skipped, since the quality is below average and there are a lot of good eating opportunities in the neighborhood.
The big advantage of the hotel is the location, just in the centre of the city, within walking distance of shopping opportunities, the muslim quarter and the bell tower. But there are several hotels in the vicinity

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Skytel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;