We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xian Skytel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xian Skytel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It is a shame that the cleanliness and poor maintainence has let this hotel down as it is in a good location and has a nice decor. However, we could not look past the lack of cleanliness in the hotel. The bathroom sink and bench were not cleaned properly and there was a cigarette butt on the bathroom floor. The carpets were stained and there was much damage to the walls and furniture. The breakfast room was also very dirty. Dirty floor, I picked up a dirty plate to put my food on and the tables were not cleared of food scraps after they were used. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    104
    55
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
34
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montrouge, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite centrally located - within walking distance to the bell tower and the south city gate. But it is small. OK for two persons. We had an extra bed added and we didn't have much room after we opened our luggages. Comfort-wise it is OK but not much to offer.

Breakfast is the same everyday. The chefs seemed to lack imagination. There are better hotels. Frankly, if I were to go to Xian again, I would not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Two of my colleagues and I stayed in this hotel from July 20 to July 23. It was a business trip, actually we made quite a online search and consult some local friends in Xi'an before going. Eventually, we booked the Skytel Hotel mostly because of its perfect central location. It is on the South Main Street within the City Wall. It is 3-5 minutes’ walk to the South Main Gate of the City Wall if you walk south, and 5-9 minutes’ walk to the Bell Tower towards north. And what's more, if you keep walk further northwest from the Bell Tower, in 10 more minutes, you get the famous Muslim Quarter with the Big Muslim Bazaar and the Great Mosque. Behind the hotel building, there is a large super market named Huarun Wanjia Super-market and the Defuxiang Bar Street. There are many noodle and jiaozi restaurants around it.

Its breakfast is on the second floor, quite a various of choice, simply but good taste.

There is free WIFI in every corner. Their people are friendly and helpful.

The only disadvantage in my eyes is the size of the rooms, little bit small. For large size people, better think about it.

Room Tip: Better ask them clearly about the type of rooms as this hotel have quite different types of rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This quite reasonably-priced hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Bell Tower, the Drum Tower, the Muslim Quarter and the South Gate of the ancient city wall. There are plenty of eating, shopping and sightseeing opportunities at close hand -- and the subway entrance is only about a block away. For price and convenience you can't beat the Skytel Hotel.

The hotel itself is decent enough, with courteous staff who speak at least a little English. The rooms are very small, but quite clean. Our bed was typically hard, but comfortable, and the staff quickly accommodated our request for additional pillows.

The wi-fi in the room worked well, and CNN was available on the flat-screen TV. There are no safes in the room or refrigerators, but there is an electric kettle, complimentary bottled water, packets of tea and the ever-present Nescafe!

We had breakfast daily at the hotel's upstairs dining room. The food was certainly passable, with both Chinese and western options. All were mostly indifferently prepared and none very hot, but the price was great and you could eat your fill of pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit if you didn't care for the cooked options.

There is also a little coffee shop adjacent the lobby, but we did not check it out so I can't recommend one way or the other.

The air conditioning worked sporadically at best, so we did find ourselves uncomfortably warm much of the time -- and we were there in May, so I imagine that July and August could really be brutal. (I've also heard other travelers complain about the cold in the winter, which makes we think the hotel's entire HVAC system and/or insulation is sorely lacking.)

Hot water in the shower was plentiful, but as many other travelers have pointed out, there is a serious lack of bathroom privacy. There is no door to the bathroom; only a windowed dividing wall separates it from the bedroom. The toilet and shower stalls are all glass, and are true stalls in that the glass stops a few feet short of the ceiling so there isn't even any sound barrier. To top it off there is a mirror on the wall adjacent the shower, so anyone in the shower is pretty much on full display (which can be a good or bad thing, depending on your particular bent).

If you're traveling on your own, or with someone you're comfortable sharing all your bathroom rituals with, then this hotel is a very good option for both its convenience and affordability. It's not fancy but perfectly respectable, though I might caution staying there in either extremely cold or hot weather. With those caveats in place, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overrated hotel, tries to establish a businesslike atmosphere. The rooms are ok, the staff friendly. But only a few can speak english. We had a few problems with the two rooms we rented. Toilets din't flush and a fridge wasn't working. It took quite some effort to get some action, although in the end, they get the job done.
The restaurant is to be skipped, since the quality is below average and there are a lot of good eating opportunities in the neighborhood.
The big advantage of the hotel is the location, just in the centre of the city, within walking distance of shopping opportunities, the muslim quarter and the bell tower. But there are several hotels in the vicinity

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Most staff spoke good English and were very helpful with directions and tour options. The location of this hotel was perfect. I spent a lot of time on my feet as there is so much nearby. The buses and tut tut cabs were also very cheap for getting around.

Room Tip: Higher floors will obviously have less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the hotel with the best service on our tour through China. There was a problem with electricity in our room which was fixed by the hotel electrician within 15 minutes after informing reception. The command of English is generally very good and everyone was very friendly. The twin room was well equipped and clean. Breakfast was served in a nice restaurant and the choice was very good. The location is central.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#32 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#40 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Skytel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.