We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xian old city Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xian Skytel Hotel to your Saves list
Xian Skytel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Xian old city Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this modern and clean hotel which is well located near the city wall south gate. It is close to restaurants, supermarket and metro. The hotel restaurant has an excellent breakfast amd dinner selections at reasonable prices. Staff speak English and very helpful. One curious item is that our bathroom had a partial glass wall between it and the bed area. We did not inquire about the other rooms.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about privacy in the room, ask about the bathroom visibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    109
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
36
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

An excellent modern Hotel set within the city walls within easy walking distance of the 'South Gate' and the 'Bell and Drum Towers'. The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds comfortable. We would definately recommend this Hotel and would certainly return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean and convenient. It is within walking distance of the Drum and Bell Towers and the South Gate of the city. The rooms were comfortable. There was good WIFI. The price was reasonable. You can find anything you need within walking distance. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: This hotel is modern, clean and convenient. It is within walking distance of the Drum and Bell Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in Xian Skytel Hotel last May 2010. It was an almost perfect hotel. Very convenient location. My friend and I walked to the Bell Tower and South Gate our first night there. The room was perfect! I liked the lively colors of the chair and the paintings on the wall. All the furniture were stylish, modern and functional. The best part of the room was the wall facing the bathroom door: It was entirely covered with mirror. There were many shelves where you can place your things too. The room had a cozy feeling to it. The only catch was the noise down the street which was a bit disturbing at nighttime. Bathroom was clean as well as spacious. The breakfast was nice and the staffs were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I paid 278 ($45 US) a night for a single room. I added breakfast when I got there for 35 RMB. The rooms were clean and small but I was solo and wasn't looking for anything special. Location was fantastic. Was able to walk to the South Gate and Bell Tower at night to take photos and felt safe as a solo female traveler. I should also add the the reception staff spoke decent English.

I was fine with breakfast which included some non pork items such as 2 sauteed vegetable dishes each morning plus fresh fruit. The food wasn't too greasy so I would choose the breakfast option. I did see a Starbucks about 6 minute walk away if that is what you wanted. There is also a coffee shop attached to the lobby but I don't know if they served any food.

Taxis from the airport can be a hassle. Lonely Planet says it should cost 100 RMB but I wound up paying 180 with the meter and I know I got ripped off. I discovered that the airport drop off and pick-up is a ten minute walk away from the hotel. Though you need to get there at least 2.5 hours before your flight. Missed that window and wound up paying 150 RMB for the cab to the airport

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Skytel had it all. A fantastic location, helpful staff, comfortable beds, even a rain shower. But there's one hitch. The bathroom, at least in the room I was in, consisted of a glass encased toilet and shower with one door (that did not go all the way to the ceiling, leaving a two foot hole at the top) that either closed for the shower or the bathroom. To make matters more interesting, there is a mirror positioned directly opposite the shower. That means that anyone else in the room is almost forced to see you use the bathroom or take a shower. So you need to either be very close to the person you are sharing the room with or be prepared to leave whenever it's shower or bathroom time...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I chose to stay at the Skytel hotel because it is in a fantastic location in the heart of Xian where the ancient monuments of the City Wall and the Drum & Bell Towers are situated. It is also extremely convenient to get there from the airport by shuttle bus to the Bell Tower and at 26RMB per trip it is not bad value at all. There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area and it is quite easy to find your way around this area of the city.

As for the hotel itself, the man at the front desk was very helpful and spoke good English. I paid under 250RMB per night for what is called an "exquisite single room", it was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine and well designed. The television may have only had one English channel (CNN) but it was still interesting to glimpse other channels which highlighted various aspects of Chinese culture. The WiFi connection was good and easy to set up. The heating system was adequate once you knew how to activate it and outside my window was a view of the South Main Street. For the equivalent of £25 a night, this represents excellent value.

I didn't utilise access of other hotel facilities except for the two restaurants for dinner each night. The first one was a more traditional Chinese which was nice but a lot of the staff can't speak English which would be a problem if you can't speak a few words of Mandarin. The meal was decent but there was confusion about the bill, I received two separate bills because of miscommunication between the staff. As for the other restaurant/cafe situated on the first floor, I found the food there very disappointing, I had ordered a beef curry with rice but it wasn't cooked properly or looked particularly appetising.

Apart from the restaurants, I found my stay at Skytel enjoyable, convenient and value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get the maximum experience when visiting Xian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Skytel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.