We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and perfectly OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Soluxe International Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Brighton, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Functional and perfectly OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Located near the station and the city walls. Breakfast very nice. Rooms clean and comfortable and big.

Cocktails in the lounge bar with piano accompaniment - really quite pleasant. The Chinese restaurant was also very pleasant with helpful staff albeit with little English spoken - but, hey, it's all a wonderful experience that is China.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    78
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
30
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel as a part of our tour of Xi'an. This is not a 4 star hotel as advertised by the tour agency. I know the surrounding area is somewhat poor so i don't know how this hotel fares with competitive hotels nearby. The public areas of the hotel are quite nice but are not indicative of the rooms. Once we entered into the room we found the carpeting to be very dirty and i question how good of a job housekeeping does. I recommend using the complimentary hotel slippers. Beds were very low and uncomfortable. Room size was large but who really wants a big dingy room. On the plus side we had a room that was in the center of the hotel so we were not bothered by the sound of traffic and had a view over a little pagoda garden. The hotel location is in a very busy area with heavy car and pedestrian traffic and close to a main train terminal. you can see the city gates from the hotel and there are many shops and businesses outside. Being tourists though we were very careful about going out at night and found a large mall about 10 mins walking distance. The restaurant for breakfast is very nice but the food is just ok and seats can fill up rather quickly. During our stay there was conference so there were many people just trying to grab any empty seat they could so it was not a very relaxing breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The stay of our group of 17 people at Hotel sunshine international was the worst have ever seen. The supposed to be 4 star rated hotel did not have any of the facilities it ought to have. The room airconditioner was not working. When asked, we were told to keep the windows open and sleep. The bathroom towels were all in torn condition but while checking out, we were asked to pay for the towels saying that we only tore them.
As the tour leader, I wanted to meet the customer support executive at the hotel, but was not allowed to do so . Either he didnot bother to meet us.
The reception staff at the hotel were not courteous but harsh towards the tourists. They were reluctant to exchange the USD to CNY saying some reason or the other. It looked like they are not interested in promoting tourism . We were compelled to pay for the porterage tips the service whcih we neither asked nor requested.
Such a worst experience we faced at the hotel sunshine internationa. xian and I will never recommend this hotel to any of my groups in future or to my friends and families.
Dont make the mistake of choosing this hotel as we did and suffered.
thanks

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — BREAKFAST
  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN , United States of America
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The hotel is a decent, midrange establishment. It resides inside the old city walls and is close to several places of note.

The walls in all rooms I saw had peeling wallpaper and the towels did not smell fresh. The hotel's dining was decent and a good taste of Northern China cuisine. We probably wouldn't stay here again, but not for any major reason.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

This hotel was one of the weirdest places i've ever stayed. We stayed for 2 nights whilst we went to see the Terracota Warriors.

The hotel is located quite a distance from the Belltower Area which its a bit more happening. We arrived after dark and went walkabout for some dinner. The restaurant choices in this area were poor with McD's or some chain chinese, we nicknamed the Golden cow due to its logo, the only options. The area surrounding the hotel is 'up and coming' which was evident by the loudhail annoucements that sounded like a communist party broadcast which went daily from 7am till 7pm. Evidently, its actually to tell the people to leave the buildings surrounding the hotel which are due for demolition. However, the locals didn't look like they were moving out anytime soon.

So to the room or should i say cave...I think Osama Bin Laden could have been hiding there and i wouldn't have found him. It was 150 sqm over two areas (which was probably two rooms put into one room). The furniture although modern was like some badly made IKEA and the bed was rock solid. The decor is poor with frayed carpets and peeling wallpaper. The first room had a seperate bathroom and lounge area with a large sofa and two chairs. The adjoining bedroom area was also spacious but lacked any wardrobes and had an ensuite bathroom that was the size of my whole NY hotel room i stayed in on the same trip. The whole set-up freaked us out!

As for the rest of it: Staff pleasant, housekeeping good, breakfast ok, bar area expensive. The airport bus drops you around the corner and is handy but the Melody Hotel (near the Belltower) where the other airport bus drops off sounds like the same standard as this place but in a better location.

  • Liked — The lift signs which ask you not to be cruel to the lifts....Made me smile every time!!
  • Disliked — The local demolition loudspeaker announcements!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Stayed on business to attend a conference. Overall a poor experience. The staff was unpleasant and unhelpful expect for one member of the housekeeping staff. I was locked out of my room for 30 minutes due to failure of the key reader in my door and the front desk was very slow to respond. The towels were paper thin and the rooms were well worn. The room also had an unpleasant odor. The food was very average and the hotel was not in a good part of town for good restaurants, etc. Would never stay here again!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Soluxe International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Address: No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#8 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#45 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Soluxe International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Soluxe International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunshine International
Diamond International Hotel
Sunshine International Xi An
Grand Soluxe International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Soluxe International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.