We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Beautiful Rooms - Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Soluxe International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
kuala lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Modern Beautiful Rooms - Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days in November 2013 with my dad. Hotel is modern looking and has modern amenities - tea, coffee, electric kettle, bath robes, iron, the full works.
The room and bathroom is clean and has Kohler sanitary ware. Wifi is fast. Only thing though, we could not turn up the heater because they will only turn it on in December.
We did not take breakfast so I cannot comment on this.
Location perfect, 5 minutes away from the Xi'an railway station (this is not the North Xi'an railway station) and as mentioned is near the bus to Terracotta warriors.
Food and water, all accessible from shops nearby. One thing though, Xi'an wakes up early around 5 am so there will be some noise from outside if you are facing the railway station but it did not disturb my sleep. (You will only know once you look out of the window).
It has a nice soft comfy bed, carpeted floor, comfy slippers, clean toilet etc
Overall good value for money, good location and will return if have the chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
26
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night during a tour. This hotel is frequently used by at least one tour companies and that speaks to the quality since there have not been much complaints. However that means its always crowded for an early breakfast. The rooms were nice and equivalent to any 4 star American hotel. There was a desk in the room and the room had free Wifi. the bathroom was modern with a very nice shower. The service was good as they were very quick in responding to our needs. One nice thing is that they offer a selection of pillow that you can order for free. I do suggest you try them out.

The lobby of the hotel was had a nice atmosphere. The gym was large and had good equipment. The breakfast served was buffet style and the options available were a good mix of Chinese and Western food. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful hotel, very helpful service and a very good [not great, but very good] breakfast. But at a price that is eye popping. It almost seemed too good to be true. It missed out on an 'excellent' rating because breakfast was a little under-provided on our second day; this was due to two large coach parties beating us to it, but that's the hotels problem, not ours.
And I don't accept the comments about it being in a bad area just because it is close to a railway station. We did not feel unsafe once during our entire stay in China and this hotel was no different. Say that about any city in the UK!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only one night on a very busy trip to China. We were able to have an early check-in at 9:30 after getting off the overnight train which was so much appreciated. The staff were extremely friendly and competent. They also spoke very good english.

We had free WIFI and wired internet in our room with impressive speeds

I would highly recommend this hotel for it's location and the rooms were first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff- most of them speak English (that's a plus in China)
the room was great - very clean -
we could see the city walls from our room and that was great. Free Wi-fi in the room .
Food from the Restaurant & room service was great & cheap. Hotel deco was beautiful.
The hotel is close to the xian's walls and central train station. Its an area with a lot of traffic - so it could get noisy at night. My only concern was the hotel surroundings. The area looks a bit dodgy and not safe specially at night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this hotel because I was impressed by the positive reviews here, I made a mistake.
It is in front of the main Xian train station, but as with all areas near main train stations, it is a very low class area with many peasants and businesses catering to them, rough area with rough people.

I found smudges of brown mud or human waste in front of the bathroom sink, this was after many hours in the room, by that point, we were too tired to change room, also too late to avoid cancellation charge. This was totally not acceptable.

There is no air conditioning. No cooling no heating. Weather turned cool the day we arrived, yet room is still warm and stuffy. Management decided it is cool enough to shut down all air conditioning. We have to keep window open at all time.

Rooms and the hotel interiors are fist class, same class as good 5 stars hotels like Shangri-La or Hyatt, comfortable bed, well equipped, strong wifi, modern bath. But rooms are not as big as shown in pictures online, good size but not bigger than usual. If you just compare the interiors with other 5 stars, price is a good value.

There is no view, all rooms face interior courtyard, you see other rooms. We requested changing room, but new room was same.

Check-in was slow even with only 2 people in front, finally got to front desk, after many minutes, they sent us up to executive floor on 12th, we had to handle luggage, dark and empty with a lone girl who has no authority and none responsive. Don't waste your money booking more expensive executive floor. Did not try their afternoon tea, we were out touring, not worth a penny more.

Bell boys were not there to help, when he saw us, he did not come over to help.

Hotel restaurant prices are outrageously high.

Breakfast is big but we could not find much to eat, coffee tasted like strong bitter burned medicine.

The good news is we are out touring Xi'an whole day, not in this hotel. As an experienced business traveler, I am usually very easy to please, I can handle anything, but this one should be avoided if you can.

Room Tip: No room has view. Don't waste a penny on executive lounge floor, nothing there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Perfectly serviceable hotel near the walls of Xi'an and close to the (old, not high-speed) train station.

We were happy to arrive in one piece here after a hair-raising taxi ride from Xi'an North train station (where the high-speed trains from Beijing come in). We arrived quite late and had to wait a while for the staff to check us in - there seemed to be a lot of staff behind the desk doing very little.

The room was fine (but really no better) and laid out in an extremely strange fashion (e.g. the TV was mounted on the wall in such a way you could not turn it to view it from either the bed or the sofa, so they had put one single chair right opposite it). We were quite close to the lift though, so this is probably not the case with all rooms. The bathroom had an "open" shower, which made it more like a wet-room, which was also a little odd as the place tended to flood and there was nothing we could do about it.

Credit to the night concierge who tried to provide us with a pizza (jet-lag hunger in the small hours of the morning), but the results were not very impressive. We didn't use the restaurant or bar as we were only in Xi'an to see the terracotta warriors - and this hotel is good for that as it is right next to the bus station.

Check-out was a little better (although there was a panicked moment when they said they had no record of our bags in the left luggage). And they hailed a taxi for us. Not really things to make the place stand out though. All in all - a little impersonal and I'd probably look to stay elsewhere if I was coming to Xi'an again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Soluxe International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Address: No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#58 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Soluxe International Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Soluxe International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunshine International
Diamond International Hotel
Sunshine International Xi An
Grand Soluxe International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Soluxe International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.