We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little odd...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Soluxe International Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 2,164 Hotels in Xi'an
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A little odd...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Perfectly serviceable hotel near the walls of Xi'an and close to the (old, not high-speed) train station.

We were happy to arrive in one piece here after a hair-raising taxi ride from Xi'an North train station (where the high-speed trains from Beijing come in). We arrived quite late and had to wait a while for the staff to check us in - there seemed to be a lot of staff behind the desk doing very little.

The room was fine (but really no better) and laid out in an extremely strange fashion (e.g. the TV was mounted on the wall in such a way you could not turn it to view it from either the bed or the sofa, so they had put one single chair right opposite it). We were quite close to the lift though, so this is probably not the case with all rooms. The bathroom had an "open" shower, which made it more like a wet-room, which was also a little odd as the place tended to flood and there was nothing we could do about it.

Credit to the night concierge who tried to provide us with a pizza (jet-lag hunger in the small hours of the morning), but the results were not very impressive. We didn't use the restaurant or bar as we were only in Xi'an to see the terracotta warriors - and this hotel is good for that as it is right next to the bus station.

Check-out was a little better (although there was a panicked moment when they said they had no record of our bags in the left luggage). And they hailed a taxi for us. Not really things to make the place stand out though. All in all - a little impersonal and I'd probably look to stay elsewhere if I was coming to Xi'an again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    90
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
38
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riehen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After our poor experience at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza, Beijing, the first stop of our China trip, we were prepared for the worst when we arrived in Xi'an but the Grand Soluxe International was like a breath of fresh air. Modern, well appointed rooms, very clean, excellent breakfast, free wifi in the lobby -what a difference. We had dinner at the hotel's chinese restaurant and the food as well as service were both good even though communicating with staff that does not speak or understand English was a challenge but part of the charm.
Our only hitch was that the hotel only exchanges US dollars or Euros but not Swiss Francs but the building next door is a bank with several ATM's, so it was not a problem.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in June and as we arrived by train. It is right across from the main railway station which was convenient. It is also next to the airport shuttle bus stop. The area around though is always very busy with lots of people. The hotel public areas were very nice. The room was great with all the amenities (including a bath). It was quiet, spacious and very comfortable. However booking in was difficult as they could not find the reservation. They charged my credit card twice. The maid kept knocking on the room door in a morning and the reception staff were rude and indifferent most of the time ignoring us as if we were not there. Although the rooms are great we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013, for 2 nights. It is just a couple streets across from the Railway Station, definitely walking distance. The hotel is very nice. Breakfast buffet is really great. If you have dinner in the hotel, and decide to eat a-la-carte instead of at the buffet, the service is really slow. It took an hour for me to get my order. Being so close to the railway station made it easy to take the airport bus from and to the airport. There is also Bus No 5 that starts from outside the Railway Station and goes to the Terracotta Warriors - very convenient. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is not a international brand. A hotel managed by PetroChina Group.
Neverthless, the hotel is next to train station and airport bus terminal. It is difficult to get taxi in Xian. It is thus very useful if the hotel is near tratin station. There is a public bus terminal in front of the train station. One can go to various tourist spots by bus at very low costs.
Breakfast is rich but mostly Chinese food. Maybe not suitable for western tourists. Guests may taste dinner buffet. It is cheap but of reasonable quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Another Chinese hotel that is first class with an impressive lobby, and excellent service. Everything is top notch from the huge bathrooms to the complimentary bathrobes. We had an enjoyable stay. There was no problem exchanging money or getting information. This really is a first rate place on all levels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Location according to my needs. Next to the train station where it arrives and departs the airport shuttle and the buses to the terracotta warriors.
Room extremely comfortable with everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Bad we did not have television with international channels.
Excellent breakfast for a good price.
Dinner very bad with the remains of the day. It was no accident that I was the only guest in the dining room.
The situation most unpleasant was the check in. They could not find my booking which forced me to make a large deposit security. After many contacts, the problem resolved itself after almost an hour. The fact of the receptionists barely speak English worsened the situation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Soluxe International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Address: No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#49 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Soluxe International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Soluxe International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunshine International
Diamond International Hotel
Sunshine International Xi An
Grand Soluxe International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Soluxe International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.