We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Soluxe International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
Riehen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After our poor experience at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza, Beijing, the first stop of our China trip, we were prepared for the worst when we arrived in Xi'an but the Grand Soluxe International was like a breath of fresh air. Modern, well appointed rooms, very clean, excellent breakfast, free wifi in the lobby -what a difference. We had dinner at the hotel's chinese restaurant and the food as well as service were both good even though communicating with staff that does not speak or understand English was a challenge but part of the charm.
Our only hitch was that the hotel only exchanges US dollars or Euros but not Swiss Francs but the building next door is a bank with several ATM's, so it was not a problem.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
26
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in June and as we arrived by train. It is right across from the main railway station which was convenient. It is also next to the airport shuttle bus stop. The area around though is always very busy with lots of people. The hotel public areas were very nice. The room was great with all the amenities (including a bath). It was quiet, spacious and very comfortable. However booking in was difficult as they could not find the reservation. They charged my credit card twice. The maid kept knocking on the room door in a morning and the reception staff were rude and indifferent most of the time ignoring us as if we were not there. Although the rooms are great we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013, for 2 nights. It is just a couple streets across from the Railway Station, definitely walking distance. The hotel is very nice. Breakfast buffet is really great. If you have dinner in the hotel, and decide to eat a-la-carte instead of at the buffet, the service is really slow. It took an hour for me to get my order. Being so close to the railway station made it easy to take the airport bus from and to the airport. There is also Bus No 5 that starts from outside the Railway Station and goes to the Terracotta Warriors - very convenient. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is not a international brand. A hotel managed by PetroChina Group.
Neverthless, the hotel is next to train station and airport bus terminal. It is difficult to get taxi in Xian. It is thus very useful if the hotel is near tratin station. There is a public bus terminal in front of the train station. One can go to various tourist spots by bus at very low costs.
Breakfast is rich but mostly Chinese food. Maybe not suitable for western tourists. Guests may taste dinner buffet. It is cheap but of reasonable quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Another Chinese hotel that is first class with an impressive lobby, and excellent service. Everything is top notch from the huge bathrooms to the complimentary bathrobes. We had an enjoyable stay. There was no problem exchanging money or getting information. This really is a first rate place on all levels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Location according to my needs. Next to the train station where it arrives and departs the airport shuttle and the buses to the terracotta warriors.
Room extremely comfortable with everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Bad we did not have television with international channels.
Excellent breakfast for a good price.
Dinner very bad with the remains of the day. It was no accident that I was the only guest in the dining room.
The situation most unpleasant was the check in. They could not find my booking which forced me to make a large deposit security. After many contacts, the problem resolved itself after almost an hour. The fact of the receptionists barely speak English worsened the situation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

With an unexpected spare day on my business trip to China I decided to indulge in a trip to Xi'an to see the terracotta warriors. Choosing a hotel was a rather random affair, and I stumbled upon the Grand Soluxe (ex Xian Diamond)

I arrived to find it a well appointed hotel at its price, and was pleasantly surprised. Well appointed, nice decor, spacious rooms.
Being Muslim, I was quite prepared to not find adequate food nearby. Much to my amazement, there was a Muslim street cafe right outside their doors (well two doors to their right to be honest, but close enough). I walked past it a few times, trying to gauge if it was safe to try. There was a friendly enough guy tending the fire outside, and the smells from the barbeque skewers finally got the better of me.

I ordered 4 skewers through gestures as no-one spoke a word of English. Magnificent! I ordered 6 more to round off my meal. Satisfied.

The next morning, being my free day, I wanted to go to the warriors as planned. By chance the guy at reception suggested i try the bus. Not having tried buses in China before, I decided that it was now or never. Being right opposite the train station was now a serious advantage as the buses left from the station square. Bus 306 to be precise. One leaving every hour, and a pleasant luxury-ish coach too. Really cheap at RMB7!! I kid you not. Would have paid about RMB150 for a taxi, and yet the bus goes right to the warriors. A dedicated service. I was now very very happy with my choice of hotel.

After a morning of excited discovery at the archaeological treasure trove, I returned to the Xian Diamond hotel and enquired as to how to get to the Grand Mosque. Directions were scribbled onto a card in Chinese, and off I went.

The taxi presented me to the "Islamic Street": a kaleidoscope of color, fruit stalls, curios, crafts, and searing fires sizzling meats, and a hustle and bustle to rival any market anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Soluxe International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Address: No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#58 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Soluxe International Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Soluxe International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunshine International
Diamond International Hotel
Sunshine International Xi An
Grand Soluxe International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Soluxe International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.