We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning! This hotel tried to overcharge us twice. Terrible unprofessional staffs.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Soluxe International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Warning! This hotel tried to overcharge us twice. Terrible unprofessional staffs.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night last week after a long train journey from Pingyao to Xian.

Location: very close to the xian train station. This is a big plus for this hotel.

Room: clean and spacious.

Staffs at front desk: extremely UNPROFESSIONAL and UNFRIENDLY. They may not be trained at all by the look of it. At check-in, the staffs were confused and tried to charge us for 2 nights instead of 1 (can't they read the reservation or the printed voucher given to them?). The scarry part is they asked us to sign a credit card bill to pay for over $1000 rmb for room deposit, but at the same time, they asked us also to sign a credit card bill for one more nightly rate. If I just signed all bills thinking they are for the deposit, I would have paid double.

At check out, once again they printed a credit card bill wanting me to pay the 1 night I stayed, despite I showed them the hotel voucher that it has been prepaid. Even after they finally figured out it was really prepaid, they ran a second credit card bill and wanted my signature on it to pay for that one night. Note language barrier is no excuse as I communicated with them with perfect mandarin. They just have no idea of what they are doing.

Very unfriendly front desk: after the check out saga , I ask the staffs for direction. Upon asking 2 separate person at the front desk, they both refused to give me direction and one of them told me to go out of the hotel and ask someone else. I have never seen a hotel that operates like this, even a 2 star motel may have better service than grand Soluxe that claims itself is a 4 stars ( may get their stars purely based on hotel facilities ).

So a sincere warning to all travellers that consider staying in this hotel for its location. Be careful of what they ask you to sign and check your bills carefully.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
29
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very good standard. Cold but proffesional service unless of come lat at night and they do bother answer a phone or help with your luggage. But rooms big, clean and comfortable. Soluxe quality with bit of local needs for improvement. Location not bad but still bit far for a walk to main city attractions. Standing by the train station could be great of you want to take a train but if not the neibourhood a bit dodgy for a night walk and crowded for a day one

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful hotel, elegant lobby with bridges, water feature with koi, grand piano. Very clean, our room was very spacious with sitting area with couch and chair, desk and chair. Bathroom had only a shower no tub, but the shower enclosure was huge. Others on our tour said their rooms were lovely but not as big as ours. Loved this hotel, we spent 2 nights here as part of our tour with Sinorama. Also enjoyed the hidden garden on the roof that was accessed from the 5th floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were there for 2 nights in april. nice location, near everythoing (say 20 min. Covenient as there is a convenience store attached to the hotel. However, we were assigned to a small room as we asked a "non smoking" room. They have a nice garden on the 5th floor.
We were there on a Tour.
Walking distance from the train and to go shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The rooms are clean and the amenities are acceptable and it is good value for money. The Chinese breakfast is okay. The staff friendly and helpful but hardly any English spoken but that goes for many hotels in this class. Be careful when you stay there. We were trapped in the hotel for several hours as the hotel is opposite some government building and the road is liable to closure at a moment's notice! You can walk but no vehicles are allowed on the road. Also remember Xian time is not China time and you might be two hours out if you are making arrangements with your guide etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Located near the station and the city walls. Breakfast very nice. Rooms clean and comfortable and big.

Cocktails in the lounge bar with piano accompaniment - really quite pleasant. The Chinese restaurant was also very pleasant with helpful staff albeit with little English spoken - but, hey, it's all a wonderful experience that is China.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel as a part of our tour of Xi'an. This is not a 4 star hotel as advertised by the tour agency. I know the surrounding area is somewhat poor so i don't know how this hotel fares with competitive hotels nearby. The public areas of the hotel are quite nice but are not indicative of the rooms. Once we entered into the room we found the carpeting to be very dirty and i question how good of a job housekeeping does. I recommend using the complimentary hotel slippers. Beds were very low and uncomfortable. Room size was large but who really wants a big dingy room. On the plus side we had a room that was in the center of the hotel so we were not bothered by the sound of traffic and had a view over a little pagoda garden. The hotel location is in a very busy area with heavy car and pedestrian traffic and close to a main train terminal. you can see the city gates from the hotel and there are many shops and businesses outside. Being tourists though we were very careful about going out at night and found a large mall about 10 mins walking distance. The restaurant for breakfast is very nice but the food is just ok and seats can fill up rather quickly. During our stay there was conference so there were many people just trying to grab any empty seat they could so it was not a very relaxing breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Soluxe International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Soluxe International Hotel

Address: No.177 Jiefang Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#8 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#50 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Soluxe International Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand Soluxe International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunshine International
Diamond International Hotel
Sunshine International Xi An
Grand Soluxe International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Soluxe International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.