We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relative good hotel, but not for people without knowledge in Chinese language” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xi'an City Hotel to your Saves list
Xi'an City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Relative good hotel, but not for people without knowledge in Chinese language”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel was booked by the tour agency I had in Beijing and Xi’an. It was definitive a higher standard than the hotel in Beijing. It was very close to the Bell and Drum Towers and the Muslim quarter. But a very disadvantage in that horel was that nobody of the staff was able to speak reasonable English in order to have a meaningful conversation. This let for instance following the incident: The first morning I went to get my breakfast. When I was asked whether I want to have a Chinese one, I answered “Yes, Chinese”. But then I got served a clearly Western breakfast. I could easily compare since at a table beside me sat a Chinese customer with his clearly Chinese breakfast. When I tried to complain, nobody was able to understand me first. After about 10 min they realized what I wanted and gave me partially a Chinese Breakfast, but without soup and salad. After the breakfast I tried to complain at the service desk at entrance. But also there nobody was able to speak English. Later I communicated through my tour guide. And next day I got even the regular buffet.
The quality of the hotel had still no western standard. As other reviewers already wrote, the table cloths were old and not really well made, and the carpet in the room was also not that great. But it was over all clean and relative quiet.
Generally, I would recommend the hotel to people who are able to speak Chinese. For all others it is unfortunately not good unless at least some of the staff is able to speak English well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    109
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
10
33
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went only for dinner, there was a large selection of food, but was able to eat only a very few dishes as I'm not much into Chinese food.
Lovely restaurant, well decorated Chinese style, the service of the staff was o.k. but once again it was the language problem, fortunately we had a very nice English speaking guide to help us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's just the pits. Worse than an out dated back packers. The bed was terrible the springs were showing through had to use a doona in the wardrobe to make it a little easier to sleep on. The dinning room was just as bad. Old table clothes that looked like old rags. Carpet has see better days. worn and very dirty. Had to run around in the shower to get wet and the water would not drain away thank goodness we only had to stay the one night. Just horrible. Give it a hug miss!!.

Room Tip: Just don't bother find some were else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed herre for 2 nights in September 2013. I was searching for a central, inexpensive place to stay and got it. The location is close to the bell tower. From there you can take busses to every direction in Xian. The room was o.K. The carpet is dirty, but I knew it before due the reviews I have read. The bed was comfy and the room was quite. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location is good, that´s the only reason why to choose this hotel. But the room was dirty and the old worn-out carpet.. nasty, just avoid it. Discusting. Needs renovation. Rats were running on the roof..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a tour of China which was excellent all except this hotel which was abysmal. We like others checked the reviews for this hotel before travelling and because of mixed reviews thought we would take a chance and leave as was, what a mistake that was, we arrived late and as soon as we got into our room could see it was a mistake,we were too tired to leave that night but first thing next morning we informed the tour company and even said we would pay the extra cost to stay in another hotel for the second night (that was how bad it was we could not put up with it just for one more night)The room was shabby with paint peeling and wood rot on the skirting boards stains all over the carpets and we slept on top of the bed as did not want to get in the covers when we approached the staff they were uninterested to the point of we were just being moaners. We are regular travellers and do not expect 4/5* when we have booked 3* but this was not even 1* to date the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.This was the only hotel in China that we stayed in that does not change currency so please be aware if you do decide to book.
The only thing going for this hotel is its central location but if you have a tour this does not really apply as there are several other hotels in the area.
To repeat what others have posted do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: None that we would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stay for 2 nights in a mini room (single room) in Spetember 2013. Hotel is typical old 3 star hotel. Since only paid about S$36 per night, it is rather cheap for such a good location. It is also sufficiently clean for a 3 star hotel but old. The shower is above the toilet bowl.

But part of the reason for booking this hotel is also that they have a fitness centre but I didn't use it in the end. The fitness centre is locked up at a level that is very very dark with no one at all on that level. I am supposed to go and take the key from somewhere. Thinking that I will be alone in that creepy level even if I get the key make me gave the gym a miss.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an City Hotel

Address: No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#173 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi'an City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xi'an City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.