We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just avoid it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Xi'an City Hotel to your Saves list
Xi'an City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just avoid it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location is good, that´s the only reason why to choose this hotel. But the room was dirty and the old worn-out carpet.. nasty, just avoid it. Discusting. Needs renovation. Rats were running on the roof..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    109
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
10
33
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a tour of China which was excellent all except this hotel which was abysmal. We like others checked the reviews for this hotel before travelling and because of mixed reviews thought we would take a chance and leave as was, what a mistake that was, we arrived late and as soon as we got into our room could see it was a mistake,we were too tired to leave that night but first thing next morning we informed the tour company and even said we would pay the extra cost to stay in another hotel for the second night (that was how bad it was we could not put up with it just for one more night)The room was shabby with paint peeling and wood rot on the skirting boards stains all over the carpets and we slept on top of the bed as did not want to get in the covers when we approached the staff they were uninterested to the point of we were just being moaners. We are regular travellers and do not expect 4/5* when we have booked 3* but this was not even 1* to date the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.This was the only hotel in China that we stayed in that does not change currency so please be aware if you do decide to book.
The only thing going for this hotel is its central location but if you have a tour this does not really apply as there are several other hotels in the area.
To repeat what others have posted do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: None that we would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stay for 2 nights in a mini room (single room) in Spetember 2013. Hotel is typical old 3 star hotel. Since only paid about S$36 per night, it is rather cheap for such a good location. It is also sufficiently clean for a 3 star hotel but old. The shower is above the toilet bowl.

But part of the reason for booking this hotel is also that they have a fitness centre but I didn't use it in the end. The fitness centre is locked up at a level that is very very dark with no one at all on that level. I am supposed to go and take the key from somewhere. Thinking that I will be alone in that creepy level even if I get the key make me gave the gym a miss.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has location going for it, but otherwise - the staff was not very helpful or friendly, they were more concerned about talking to each other than helping you! The wifi only worked in the lobby, if that is important to you. The room was dated and when I arrived there was a big bug in my sink. Then there was a gecko in my room, strange to see on the 4th floor of a city hotel? There was no safe and a hotel employee knocked and walked right into my room at 1:30 pm (after it had been cleaned?). There was a yha hostel nearby that I spent more free time at than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel, I wondered if I stayed at the same place. But the address looks correct.

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in, so bad, we changed hotels and just paid for an additional room without even trying to get our money back.
Not only were the rooms dirty, but there was vomit "stains" on the bed!! Disgusting!!
The floors were stained and dirty and we could hear all the traffic noise from the main street. But the reason we left the hotel was for safety reasons - there were so many cameras in the lobby, halls and stairs that we assumed there had to be a reason. My husband didn't want to leave me alone in the room - but I sent him across the street to McDonald's for a snack. He discovered the stair well opens onto the side street and opened from the outside (no key needed). Also, the hotel keys were numbered (so if the key was lost, you not only knew the hotel name, but the room number). We didn't feel safe at all and moved to the Bell Tower Hotel...a much better choice for the same price.

Room Tip: The location is good - near the Bell Tower, but for the same price you can stay at the Bell Tower ho...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is run down but clean and the bathroom was newly renovated. The beds were OK. The hotel is just off the main street and the rooms were quiet. It is a nice location inside the wall where you can go biking. There is a Mc Donalds nearby via and underground pedestrian walkway for western food and ice cream.

Room Tip: Rooms in upper level best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights in July 2012 and we were very happy with the hotel. Altough the hotel is rather dated, the room was nice and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the location brilliant. You can walk to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim district. The bus stations are within walking distance from the hotel (and that is the best way to get everywhere!) and there are shops just next to the hotel, in case you need to buy something late at night. Also, although the breakfast is not included in the price, you can pay for it if you decide to eat there in the morning (I don't remember exactly the price, but it was very cheap).Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an City Hotel

Address: No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#189 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi'an City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xi'an City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.