We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xi'an City Hotel to your Saves list
Xi'an City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 2,064 Hotels in Xi'an
Chicago
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has location going for it, but otherwise - the staff was not very helpful or friendly, they were more concerned about talking to each other than helping you! The wifi only worked in the lobby, if that is important to you. The room was dated and when I arrived there was a big bug in my sink. Then there was a gecko in my room, strange to see on the 4th floor of a city hotel? There was no safe and a hotel employee knocked and walked right into my room at 1:30 pm (after it had been cleaned?). There was a yha hostel nearby that I spent more free time at than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    109
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
10
33
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel, I wondered if I stayed at the same place. But the address looks correct.

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in, so bad, we changed hotels and just paid for an additional room without even trying to get our money back.
Not only were the rooms dirty, but there was vomit "stains" on the bed!! Disgusting!!
The floors were stained and dirty and we could hear all the traffic noise from the main street. But the reason we left the hotel was for safety reasons - there were so many cameras in the lobby, halls and stairs that we assumed there had to be a reason. My husband didn't want to leave me alone in the room - but I sent him across the street to McDonald's for a snack. He discovered the stair well opens onto the side street and opened from the outside (no key needed). Also, the hotel keys were numbered (so if the key was lost, you not only knew the hotel name, but the room number). We didn't feel safe at all and moved to the Bell Tower Hotel...a much better choice for the same price.

Room Tip: The location is good - near the Bell Tower, but for the same price you can stay at the Bell Tower ho...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is run down but clean and the bathroom was newly renovated. The beds were OK. The hotel is just off the main street and the rooms were quiet. It is a nice location inside the wall where you can go biking. There is a Mc Donalds nearby via and underground pedestrian walkway for western food and ice cream.

Room Tip: Rooms in upper level best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights in July 2012 and we were very happy with the hotel. Altough the hotel is rather dated, the room was nice and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the location brilliant. You can walk to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim district. The bus stations are within walking distance from the hotel (and that is the best way to get everywhere!) and there are shops just next to the hotel, in case you need to buy something late at night. Also, although the breakfast is not included in the price, you can pay for it if you decide to eat there in the morning (I don't remember exactly the price, but it was very cheap).Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty central by the Bell Tower and not far from the city wall and other attractions. Easy to reach the airport bus, which is like a normal bus that operate in the city, not a special shuttle bus. Staff is friendly and speak English (some of them), but no troubles. Rooms are OK but a little bit noisy. And when it is hot beware of mosquitoes. If you open the window for a second there is a kind of invasion of them in your room :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A city hotel down an alleyway. The staff was very kind and helpful - allowing us to store our luggage after we checked out and before our flight left so we could explore the city. They even arranged for a car to take us to the airport upon our return from exploring the city.

We booked 3 rooms for our family of 5. The rooms were not clean, although the sheets appeared to be fresh. The carpet hasn't been vacuumed or cleaned in quite some time. There was no door or curtain on the shower. Be sure to bring shower clogs if you care to use the bathroom or shower. Two twin beds to a room. Western style toilet. Towels were threadbare. Ancient packages of condoms along with other toiletries left "for our convenience" in the bathroom - ugh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is in a really convenient location within the walls of the old city. 5 minutes walk to Bell Tower. Rooms very quiet with excellent blackout curtains. Beds some of the more comfortable in China. Only drawback is that the breakfast buffet is a bit poor. However, there is a Starbucks across the road under the Mall, and a 24 hour convenience store next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an City Hotel

Address: No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#174 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi'an City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xi'an City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.