We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xi'an City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xi'an City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Ladysmith, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good value and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over three nights in late September. While the hotel is dated and less than perfect the room was adequate, the staff friendly and helpful and the location great. You can walk to the Bell Tower and Drum tower less than ten minutes away. Both are among the attractions in Xian. Perhaps most interesting is the ancient city wall in Xian and it too is only a ten minute walk from the hotel as is the fascinating pedestrian only Muslin quarter. While there are many newer and more deluxe hotels outside the old walled city, it's much more of an experience to stay within the old walls as we did. Breakfast is included with the room and my only negative observation about the hotel was that the breakfast was, from a foreign tourist's point of view, typically chinese .....lots of cold fried noodles, steamed buns and congee rather than including the cereal and yogurt that we usually found at other hotels in China during our stay. All round good value though and a great place from which to explore old city Xian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    109
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
10
33
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Xi'an. Room was pretty decent: clean, good sized bed, good bathroom, air con and free internet via an ethernet cable (seems to be the norm for China). Breakfast was OK. Location of the hotel is brilliant; within walking distance to the Muslim quarter and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Can't comment on the price as this was part of a tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights with my teenage son as part of longer China tour. I do not know about the price/value since this was included in the package price. The hotel is basic, located on a quieter side street in a very busy central district of Xian. As far as I could tell none of the rooms have any type of view. Our room was very quiet. The location is excellent, just one block from the central bell tower, 5 minute walk to a large indoor shopping mall, Starbucks, and many other western shops. The Xian city street layout is a square, so it is hard to get lost wandering around the central city. Our room was quite small, but clean with excellent shower, and outdated tv. The breakfast buffet was slim pickings, mostly Chinese offerings, and not English explanations for any of the food. Given the location I would certainly stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian,
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

China is not really cheap to travel in, and the City Hotel (offering at that time a special rate of 188 RMB or about $32 USD for a fairly shabby room with truly ancient, stained carpeting) is still a bargain. The bed was billed as a single but actually close to double size and reasonably comfortable by western standards if you do what I do - sleep on top of the bedding and haul out the extra blanket to pull over you. (Koreans and Japanese sleep on the floor while the Chinese simply have mattresses as hard as a floor).

2 great things about the City Hotel (besides price - again, China doesn't offer great travel values compared to what you can get elsewhere in Asia - and quality is often not nearly as good) ...

But first great thing is they speak English pretty well. This is rare in many parts of China - I also went to Chengdu and my supposed 3 star hotel did not have one word of travelers' English (not even 'airport' or 'bus' or 'train' - they looked up every word I wrote down - pretty mystifying when all the staff were fairly young and are required take English for 4-5 years starting in middle school).

Second is the City Hotel is really centrally located. You can walk out the door and be at either the Bell Tower or the City Wall in the historic part of Xi'an within 10 minutes. It's a busy area, but the hotel is set back off the main street and my room was also super quiet (at least for China!) And it's just round the corner from the direct bus to the airport - very handy! (Taxi to airport will cost 150 RMB - I think the bus was 28 RMB).

I didn't try their restaurant (which was supposed to have 'international' breakfast - but the morning I checked, it didn't)... and their advertised 'massage' was not available when I asked (but a great place was just two blocks away - one of the best massages I've had). Although there are heaps of foreigners at the City Hotel (mostly Europeans), the TV doesn't have the English CTV channel, but a nice touch is the English China Daily newspaper in the lobby.

As long as you don't care much about appearances, and want to save your money to spend on all the overpriced tourist admissions in China, the City Hotel is a bargain by Chinese standards. Again, China is NOT bargain Asian travel - you are always paying for something, and except for cheap transport and (sometimes) cheap food, it's pretty high priced. For ex., the main reason to go to Xi'an - though not the only site worth seeing - is the Terra Cotta Warriors museum - and it's about a $25 admission (plus the cost of getting there - use the public buses or you will pay a fortune!). Just about everything will cost $4 and up to enter in China - and I do mean everything, including Buddhist temples, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Firstly, Xi'an was a great relief after coming from Intensly busy Beijing. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of a really nice street of shops and restaurants including some western food like Pizza Hut and Dunkin Donuts and some big shopping malls with designer labels. We stayed here for two nights, the room was nice enough, small but had the beds were ok enough to sleep. The shower didn't have any sort of door or curtain which meant water went everywhere in the bathroom. The staff spoke enough English for us to organise a second night which helped. Location was definetly the best quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Pros: Location is perfect. Right in the middle of the bustling part of town. Close to Muslim Quarter Bell Tower, Drum Tower, and South Gate. Lots of food options in the area. Three minute walk to Airport Express bus.

Cons: No wifi in room. No wifi in lobby either while we were there. There is LAN connections in the rooms which work well. Restaurant on 2nd floor seems like an odd place for breakfast. Fuse blew out a couple times while we were there and had to call multiple times and wait forever for housekeeping to deal with it. The bathroom in the mini room (booked on Agoda) is a frosted glass cylinder next to the bed. You shower on top of the toilet. No door on the "bathroom", only a curtain. So if you're looking for a romantic time with someone and you want to retain some air of mystery, do not stay here in the mini-room. Other rooms had normal bathrooms. Mini room is small but the name says it all. Strong smell of smoke everywhere. Reception doesn't speak much English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

fantastic xian location close to everything you would want. carpets stained as typical in chinese hotels but otherwise clean and comfy. terrible view out the window. bonus points for letting us into our rooms straight away when we arrived at ~ 8am after having NO sleep on overnight sleeper western breakfast pretty ordinary chinese version ok

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an City Hotel

Address: No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#159 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi'an City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Xi'an City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.