We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Sofitel Xian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off + RMB100 voucher
Ranked #14 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great stay at the Sofitel Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My family of four stayed here during a guided trip through China. We were upgraded to a king suite for our two night stay. There was enough space for me and my husband and our two young children to enjoy a comfortably large luxurious room. The staff was professional and very friendly. The buffet was expansive and delicious. My children especially enjoyed ordering cake and macaroons from the dessert bar in the lobby, and their dinners from room service. We really appreciated the individual room controls for air conditioning, which we learned is not always an option in 5 star hotels in China. The bathroom was generously sized with good water pressure and we had a nice nightly turndown service . In short, we did not want to leave the hotel except for our planned excursions to the terra cotta warriors and the nearby Muslim Quarter and Great Mosque. The hotel is also close to the city walls, well worth a visit. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Xian.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    677
    179
    45
    22
See reviews for
300
652
80
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sofitel Xian from 15-18 Apr and from 19-22 Apr and on both occasions we were warmly welcome with an exceptional service and hospitality. Staff at checkin and in the club lounge service were very friendly and speak good English. Location was fantastic within walking or a short cab ride to shops, restaurants and city attractions. The hotel breakfast service was very good and the spread was excellent, catering to all tastes. Concierge service was also very friendly with helpful advice whenever we seek assistance. I have stayed frequently at several hotels worldwide and Sofitel Xian stands out as the best in welcome, service and friendly staff. Will certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived the room was not ready and we were invited to the club lounge for free drinks which was very comforting. Once the room was ready the front desk attendant very kindly came up to the lounge to accompany us to the room. Overall the staff was super friendly and the breakfast and dinner buffets were vast and good quality. Room was very nice, clean and comforting. The gym was a bit small everything was there. The spa was ok also. Overall we had a good stay aside from the rain! Thanks Sofitel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While the staff are clearly still learning, this truly is a beautiful hotel in a great location inside the wall in XiAn. We were upgraded to a once bedroom suite which was indulgent and had a great view of the courtyard. I am sure Sofitel will sort out the bugs with their staff and offer a truly memorable experience in Xian.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that some of the areas of the hotel were not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for providing your feedback, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Disappointed. On late arrival we were switched from our designated hotel building no apology no explanation. The carpet was dirty the phone did not work. On arrival at breakfast we had to wonder around to find a table. Having to ask for more so called complimentary water was demeaning and the front desk attitude was lacking. Having been to China 6 times and dozens of cities my summary is a second rate hotel with poor service standards try the
Marriott in Shanghai to see what real service is.


Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that some of the areas of the hotel weer not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for providing your feedback, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice position, set back from the road, with its two wings. Good breakfast and nice sized rooms. Window left open by staff during the day led to mosquitoes in the room at night, not what you'd expect from this level of hotel.
Swimming pool was not as clean as we would have liked, and the dryer for the swimming trunks didn't work.
Service was generally good though and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#10 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.7 mi away
Gran Melia Xi‘an
Gran Melia Xi‘an
#3 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel
#8 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.2 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#65 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.