We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Wonderful Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save More -30% !
Ranked #7 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Wonderful Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While the staff are clearly still learning, this truly is a beautiful hotel in a great location inside the wall in XiAn. We were upgraded to a once bedroom suite which was indulgent and had a great view of the courtyard. I am sure Sofitel will sort out the bugs with their staff and offer a truly memorable experience in Xian.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that some of the areas of the hotel were not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for providing your feedback, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    613
    162
    40
    20
See reviews for
265
576
69
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Disappointed. On late arrival we were switched from our designated hotel building no apology no explanation. The carpet was dirty the phone did not work. On arrival at breakfast we had to wonder around to find a table. Having to ask for more so called complimentary water was demeaning and the front desk attitude was lacking. Having been to China 6 times and dozens of cities my summary is a second rate hotel with poor service standards try the
Marriott in Shanghai to see what real service is.


Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that some of the areas of the hotel weer not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for providing your feedback, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice position, set back from the road, with its two wings. Good breakfast and nice sized rooms. Window left open by staff during the day led to mosquitoes in the room at night, not what you'd expect from this level of hotel.
Swimming pool was not as clean as we would have liked, and the dryer for the swimming trunks didn't work.
Service was generally good though and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We were in the club room which was great. As per other hotels in China, the service is poor. I believe it is due to inadequate training as the staff are out of there depth. A new lady in the club lounge was by herself and could not speak English - not a clever idea by hotel management. Once we communicated we wanted gin and tonic she did not know how to make. Not her fault but that of the management.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

excellent location. good walking hotel. the staff was quite helpful in arranging a drive to take us to several historic sites. I found the breakfast delicious, and a nice variety. the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. the spa was very nice, and the staff were very friendly. one night my room did smell of sewer gas, otherwise the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is set back off the road in a pleasant location. I was a bit confused at first as there are 2 wings to the hotel but all facilities are available to guests regardless of the wing you are staying in. Check in was very efficient and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was quite spacious and well equipped. The bar area in the East wing was quite relaxing and drinks were reasonably priced compared to other hotels we had stayed in on our Chinese trip. We did not want a meal on our first evening after travelling so we asked the staff if we could have some antipasti from the buffet. To begin with they were not too sure what we wanted but after a bit of pointing they served us exactly what we wanted. Breakfast was exceptionally good , the best we had on our trip even though some of the hotels we stayed in were more expensive than this one. Location was good and the staff were very attentive. I would certainly recommend this as a stopover for the Terracotta warriors.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my Mum here at the beginning of April for two nights. The first room we had was beautiful and spacious. Great bathroom, and facilities at the hotel were also very good, including the breakfast with more than enough on offer. But that first night, we soon realised our air con was not working. After telling the front desk about the issue that morning, we expected it to be fixed upon returning to the hotel that afternoon. However, after enquiring with staff, we realised it had not been resolved. We were told to go to our room and check whether it was working again, however all they had done was open our bedroom window. We were then moved to another room and told it was an upgrade, however the room was smaller and the bathroom a lot smaller and less grand. Upon reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, I realised it is not a new issue for this hotel so seems it's a problem they don't want to address. While our stay was quite pleasant, being a 5-star hotel, we expected a lot more, so left quite disappointed.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that some of the areas of the hotel weer not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for providing your feedback, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#66 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.