We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We were in the club room which was great. As per other hotels in China, the service is poor. I believe it is due to inadequate training as the staff are out of there depth. A new lady in the club lounge was by herself and could not speak English - not a clever idea by hotel management. Once we communicated we wanted gin and tonic she did not know how to make. Not her fault but that of the management.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    780
    568
    148
    38
    20
See reviews for
237
506
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

excellent location. good walking hotel. the staff was quite helpful in arranging a drive to take us to several historic sites. I found the breakfast delicious, and a nice variety. the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. the spa was very nice, and the staff were very friendly. one night my room did smell of sewer gas, otherwise the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is set back off the road in a pleasant location. I was a bit confused at first as there are 2 wings to the hotel but all facilities are available to guests regardless of the wing you are staying in. Check in was very efficient and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was quite spacious and well equipped. The bar area in the East wing was quite relaxing and drinks were reasonably priced compared to other hotels we had stayed in on our Chinese trip. We did not want a meal on our first evening after travelling so we asked the staff if we could have some antipasti from the buffet. To begin with they were not too sure what we wanted but after a bit of pointing they served us exactly what we wanted. Breakfast was exceptionally good , the best we had on our trip even though some of the hotels we stayed in were more expensive than this one. Location was good and the staff were very attentive. I would certainly recommend this as a stopover for the Terracotta warriors.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my Mum here at the beginning of April for two nights. The first room we had was beautiful and spacious. Great bathroom, and facilities at the hotel were also very good, including the breakfast with more than enough on offer. But that first night, we soon realised our air con was not working. After telling the front desk about the issue that morning, we expected it to be fixed upon returning to the hotel that afternoon. However, after enquiring with staff, we realised it had not been resolved. We were told to go to our room and check whether it was working again, however all they had done was open our bedroom window. We were then moved to another room and told it was an upgrade, however the room was smaller and the bathroom a lot smaller and less grand. Upon reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, I realised it is not a new issue for this hotel so seems it's a problem they don't want to address. While our stay was quite pleasant, being a 5-star hotel, we expected a lot more, so left quite disappointed.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that some of the areas of the hotel weer not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for providing your feedback, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As a family, we had two rooms connecting with a private lobby - which was very convenient and given the big size of the lobby also turned out to be very comfortable with the suitcases. The rooms and the hotel facilities are of Sofitel high standards, so you can relax and enjoy luxury.
Breakfast is just incredible. The viennoiseries and bread make you feel like you are in Paris and the rest of the food match in quality. We had to force ourselves to leave the table as everything was so tasty...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed there for three nights and found the hotel to excellent all round, large room, large kingsize bed, good unlimited choices for breakfast. All typical of the high global Sofitel standard.

Staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

Outside of breakfast, which kept us going for most of the day, we only had one evening meal, and it was in the main restaurant. We opted for the buffet which was excellent and included soft drinks and beer!

For us the location was ideal, but it took a long time before booking, to establish the city layout and whether it would be suitable. Although there was a steady supply of local, affordable taxis outside to take us wherever we wanted, and it's also on a main bus route.

Would I book again ? Definitely !

Room Tip: There are two separate wings, East and West Wings. The main hotel with pool and the principal restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I would probably have given this hotel five stars except that they convinced us to switch from a non-smoking king bed room to a non-smoking jr suite. This was precipitated because we decided to add breakfast to our bill for the last two days. The king room was wonderful as it was in the newest building. The Jr. Suite was ok - the layout was not as efficient - but it smelled like old cigarette smoke. Not wanting to move rooms a second time we mentioned it to the hotel manager thinking that they might due something during cleaning to relieve the smell but nothing was done. Having only one more night we decided not to bring it up further.

Room Tip: Get the King Room and don't pay for the city view - it is not worth the extra money and the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#67 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.