We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Xi'An” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive up to 30% Off
Ranked #5 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Xi'An”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Xi'An on Renmin Square for one night, while traveling there for leisure. The hotel enjoys a nice central location in the City. It is an extremely large property with two main buildings. So, need to walk a lot if you have to go from one building to the next. Rooms are nicely appointed, and quite large, and quiet. The gym is decent, everything is there. Decent size swimming pool as well. (see my pictures).

Room Tip: I had booked online. Checked in late in one of the buildings, had to switch building to find my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    548
    137
    37
    19
See reviews for
220
463
59
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is huge with beautiful art displays, several restaurants and the best breakfast buffet I have seen in many many years. Staff is very prompt to help and good english speakers. Rooms have a nice walk-in closet for luggage however not much room around the bed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel was clean / comfortable and the staff was very helpful and spoke very good english. The location was okay, but not very central. Breakfast buffet was nice - restaurants were tasty but overpriced. Pool was great. Very appreciative that the staff gave us an extra bed for our daughter, at no charge. Stayed 3 nights and that was just enough time in Xi'an to enjoy the sites and city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were upgraded to a small suite, which was well furnished with storage space and a very nice bathroom. Breakfast was a buffet with a very wide range of Asian and western food. Due to illness, we ate dinner one night at the onsite Chinese restaurant, and were surprised to find the prices more moderate than we had expected for a luxury hotel. Laundry was expensive.
The location is not terrific - a bit of a hike to get into the old city. Outside the walls of the old city, Xi'an is pretty ugly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel, and was upgraded to a suite. Nice room, clean, but not much of a view though.

The restaurant on ground floor is worth a try as there is not much to eat nearby. Service in the hotel and the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals and the room in our hotel, I really appreciated your feedback on these and I am glad that both areas lived up to your expectations. Meanwhile, thank you for your kind comments on the services. I am glad you found them to be excellent, as that is absolutely the way we would like our guests to feel when they are staying with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a tour because it was the most luxurious on offer. The décor is elaborate and augmented with flowers but the overall effect is so overdone and rather garish that it is neither beautiful or restful. But it is certainly expensive. The service was good and helpful and there was lots of choice in restaurants. We ate each time in the Azur restaurant and had the buffet dinner and the breakfast. Both were excellent, with a mix of Chinese and Western items.

The weather was cold and wet, so we did not go for walks in the vicinity except a very brief one between showers. The immediate surrounding area was not very interesting. It is in the centre of the city but not within walking distance of the main attractions. So you have to go by taxi if you don't have a tour guide and the traffic in the city is horrendous - by far the worst I've seen anywhere, including Bangkok.

Room Tip: I don't think it makes much difference. Views are okay from higher floors, but not spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group. We were in the West Wing, and breakfast was served in the East Wing, which is a bit of a walk, either through the hotel indoors, or outdoors. Rooms were lovely and well appointed, and very large, with one bottle per person of complimentary bottled water each day. Hallways on each floor were very dark with very little lighting, which is something we found at other luxury hotels in China as well. Hotel is located in the Accor complex with several other Accor owned hotels. Did not particularly care for the location as it is more of a location for business travelers and not near much of anything. You have to exit the hotel and turn to the right and walk about 3 miles to a large restaurant/shopping complex, and a smaller local shopping area also if you exit the hotel and turn to the left and walk several long blocks to a large intersection with some local shopping and a KFC, as well as a local food court in a building right around the corner from KFC with many local Asian foods. Hotel restaurant prices are pricey. They have several buffet restaurants for dinner that run U.S.$60 per person, and an al a carte restaurant, Azur (same restaurant as breakfast buffet), that has several items such as a small appetizer, noodle dish or hamburger for about $20 per person. Breakfast buffet was included for us, and it had a good variety of Asian and Western foods and lots of pastries and fruits. Loved the hotel, but would have preferred an area of town where there was more to do within walking distance. Free WiFi was also good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an

Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Sofitel Xi'an
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian
Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#82 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Luxury Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.