We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group. We were in the West Wing, and breakfast was served in the East Wing, which is a bit of a walk, either through the hotel indoors, or outdoors. Rooms were lovely and well appointed, and very large, with one bottle per person of complimentary bottled water each day. Hallways on each floor were very dark with very little lighting, which is something we found at other luxury hotels in China as well. Hotel is located in the Accor complex with several other Accor owned hotels. Did not particularly care for the location as it is more of a location for business travelers and not near much of anything. You have to exit the hotel and turn to the right and walk about 3 miles to a large restaurant/shopping complex, and a smaller local shopping area also if you exit the hotel and turn to the left and walk several long blocks to a large intersection with some local shopping and a KFC, as well as a local food court in a building right around the corner from KFC with many local Asian foods. Hotel restaurant prices are pricey. They have several buffet restaurants for dinner that run U.S.$60 per person, and an al a carte restaurant, Azur (same restaurant as breakfast buffet), that has several items such as a small appetizer, noodle dish or hamburger for about $20 per person. Breakfast buffet was included for us, and it had a good variety of Asian and Western foods and lots of pastries and fruits. Loved the hotel, but would have preferred an area of town where there was more to do within walking distance. Free WiFi was also good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    588
    154
    38
    19
See reviews for
254
535
66
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and had a very pleasant experience. The buffet breakfast was excellent, many choices of both east and west style and delicious, free bottles of water in guest rooms, chocolates on pillow at turn town. The hotel is very modern and everything looks new and very clean. We're upgraded to the president suite having a bedroom with a master bath with rain shower and separate bath tub. There is also a 1/2 bath in the sitting area with desk. All the staff are very friendly and the wait staff are always there to serve you.
I left my purse in the lobby and thank goodness for their attentive staff, Dominic Gao who chased after me on my way out of the hotel to return it to me. I'd have lost all my money and important docs. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a centrally-located hotel situated in an Accor chain complex with two other hotels all located on the same site. It is modern and classy decorated in a style too-cute for our liking. When we arrived late in the evening we were upgraded to a small suite and as appealing as that might sound it might have been better to have taken the deluxe room we booked. The suite was very dark with almost all the lighting being indirect, the furniture was George Jetson-like, and the bathroom cold and awkward – there were absolutely no hooks to hang wet towels, for instance. The hotel was clean but a bit worn. It is due for a renovation if the worn trim and old-looking bathroom finishes are any indication. There was one redeeming and most important feature– the bed and linens were very comfortable. We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant, Azur. There was a wide variety of western and Chinese food available and the service was okay except for the hostess who had a bad cough which she covered with her bare hands – ugh! We have travelled extensively in Europe and have routinely used Accor hotels – this one didn’t meet the standard. Maybe we were too tired…?

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast buffet early. The room fills up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience at the Sofitel Xi'an did not meet your expectations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was a couple/family trip to see the Terracotta Army and the Sofitel was a lovely stay. We tried a couple of the restaurants that were good to very good, breakfast was excellent to fabulous; the highlights were the rooms that exceeded our expectations with some very nice small touches (the welcoming fruit basket, plus chocolate and flower on the pillow at turn-down, although details, are something we'd not seen in a while) and efficient, friendly service. As we already had our days planned ahead with visits we didn't have a look at what was near the hotel. We ended up having a great time and our partner and I got room-service twice, something we do not normally do, but here it was great. The bill was much higher than we'd planned but then we enjoyed it and that's what it is all about in the end...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Service very good , friendly people always ready to help .
Good food ( we had a good experience at Brazilian restaurant , good meat ) and a wonderful breakfast buffet .
We enjoyed also SPA & massage services in very comfortable and 'zen' room .
As it(s the case in majority of Chinese towns , quite difficult to get a taxi even through Hotel service .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Not the greatest area. Nothing in the immediate vicinity so you are somewhat isolated. It is about a 30 minute walk to the bell tower/wall. The hotel does however have a number of in house restaurants. It is a very large hotel with two 'wings' - east and west. Rooms are large and very well appointed except that they are very dimly lit for some reason. The air conditioning was also very poor resulting in our room being way too warm.
Our party of 4 were encouraged to up grade to club rooms which included breakfast and access to the Sofitel lounge. It certainly enhanced our stay. However when we checked out we found that the the cost far exceeded what we had originally been quoted. Apparently other have experienced the same problem.

Room Tip: If you up grade to a Club Room beware of the final cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#73 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.