We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 2,156 Hotels in Xi'an
Cardiff
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a Grand Tour of China with Cox and Kings. Although we stayed for 2 nights, our time in the hotel was limited due to our hectic schedule.
This hotel has 2 wings, we were staying in the West wing and breakfast was served in the East - OK, if dry, and a golf buggy transports you if wet - but you would have thought each Wing would have breafast facilities.
Our breakfast chef seemed determined to give you omlette, whatever you asked for, or pointed to on the Chinese menu - apart from that the selection available was fine.
We enjoyed a buffet dinner in their main restaurant, which was good value.
Our room, which was large and well furnished, could best be described as flash - very modern with an open aspect bathroom/toilet, with screens if you wished to protect your privacy.
There was some road noise but the air conditioning system was quiet.
The bed linen was not changed on a daily basis and no turn down service was in operation - poor for a supposedly 5* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

At the meantime, I am sorry to read your comments that the bed linen was not changed on the daily basis and the turndown service was not provided during your stay. This really should not be and I do sincerely apologize but I do appreciate your bringing it to my attention. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments. We will investigate the case and take appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

Once again, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    616
    163
    40
    20
See reviews for
268
580
70
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The service team on the floor has not meet the normal Sofitel standard, so don't expect much on the service. Rooms are a bit old but mainly functional. Price to pay is ok. ...................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Make sure you have the address of the hotel written down in chinese - taxi drivers are not familliar with our dialect and do not understand.
There are 2 parts to this hotel the East and West wing - the East is more for conferences, though you have to go the east wing for breakfast and if you want to use the pool and spa, the buildings are linked by an underground walkway though we found it easier to walk outside.
Rooms were very spacious and modern. The hotel is a typical Sofitel - great beds, nice bathrooms, separate shower cubicle, lovely public areas - well managed and kept. Staff wonderful and very accomodating and helpful.
Breakfast was up to usual Sofitel standard - great selection - and tasty. Coffee was awful - unless you ask them to make you an espresso or americano which was good.
Pool heating was not working - nor were the jacuzzis.
Location good. Easy to walk to bell towers and all shopping streets. .

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the room facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Meantime, you have indicated that you were less than fully satisfied with the coffee at your breakfast and the water temperature of the swimming pool. We are truly sorry that this was a disappointment. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in near future.

Yours sincerely

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel in May, 2012. Although I had requested a room in the East Tower (per trip advisor recommendation,) the desk staff tried to put us in the West Tower. I held firm and got the East Tower room. The room was nice and large and the bed was comfortable. We had requested a fan in the room which was provided for us. The bathroom had a funky sliding door which I might not have noticed if I had not read about it. The Breakfast Buffet was included in our rate and it was quite extensive. The hotel is not in a good location to find restaurants within walking distance. We usually would flag down a tut tut to take us about it and it like Mr. Toad's Wild Ride- a lot of fun. It is helpful to bring a hotel business card with you as not many Chinese speak English. Overall, although the location was not the best, it was an enjoyable stay.

A tip for touring the Terracota Warriors - we rented a cab and left at 7am- we arrived just as the building was opened and we obtained a private guide there for $25. We had the Warriors pretty much to ourselves for the first hour or more. When we left the tour buses were arriving as were the crowds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our tour booked us in all 5 star hotels on our 13 day trip to China. This was probably the best room because we were upgraded to a suite. Nice and spacious, great king sized bed, good location. Our room was 71121. The first number is the building, so we were on the 11th floor.
We had no hot water when we arrived, but we didn't know it until we went to bed. I was tired, so washed my face in cold water and called the next morning since I wanted to take a shower. They came right away and fixed it. The buffet breakfast was fine (I'm getting used to some of the unusual offerings), but there is always a variety of choices. We ate one dinner in the hotel, at Le Chinois, a Cantonese restaurant. The food was good and a reasonable price. It was tricky to find our way back since they told us to go the wrong direction when we left. I agree with the other reviews about the hotel layout being difficult to maneuver because it is so big. All of our excursions were with the tour bus, so I don't know about the neighborhood since we were only there two days. The Terra Cotta Warriors were outstanding. This is a huge city, not the farm town I expected!

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Sofitel Renmin Square Xi’an. It was with great pleasure that I read these comments and it will be with equal pleasure that I share your compliments with all of our team members. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The concierge helps you with anything you want, car, tourguide, tickets to show. He's very helpfull and polite. The hotel is nice and clean and modern downstairs. Our familyrooms were bit on the dark side, but we didn't spend much time there. Restaurants good, breakfastbuffet has everything you can think of and more. Unfortunately the water in the pool was icecold due to repairs on the heatingsystem. Children were very dissappointed. Luckily there was a snookertable. And a verynice bar for a pre dinnerdrink! A happy stay ;-)

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room with a living room. I believe it is the family package. Very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the food and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

At the same time, you have indicated that you were less than fully satisfied with the water temperature of the swimming pool. We are truly sorry that this was a disappointment and we are following up now to determine how to ensure that such problem do not recur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in near future.

Yours sincerely

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Most outstanding aspects of this hotel are the location and the superb service. We were stranded at a park about 5 miles from hotel when our driver left (said shift over) and the cabs were on shift break (beware: lasts an hour or more about 3:30-4:30 p.m. though cabs never easy to get except at hotel). After an hour in heat we called hotel and the lovely concierge came to get us in his own car. Charged us nothing (we gave BIG tip). All staff very friendly and helpful
Downsides: we were in lovely west wing but all dining in east wing. Not a long walk but less convenient. bigger issue was that one of our rooms had a water leak in floor and space into bathroom always wet (covered with towels). We told them but obviously required some major surgery. And though room was very big, one of the beds was about 6 inches from the bathroom entrance. Bathroom sliding door wasn't properly hung so wouldn't close.

Room Tip: Ask to see room - try to get one where bathroom not right next to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, while we noted your good compliments to the hotel location and the service, we regret to note the indication that you found your room was not up to your expectation. We are sorry that this was a disappointment. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention so that we can improve on those deficiencies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Yours sincerely

Director of Quality
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#69 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.