We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable with lovely large beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable with lovely large beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel was big, clean, comfortable and quiet. While it was nothing special it was more than enough for our three days exploring the city and using it as a base to go and see the Terracotta Warriors.

We were upgraded to a king sized room on check in - although to be honest the check in service was a little below what I expected. It was a bit rushed and abrupt.

Couldn't fault the room at all - and although breakfast was expensive it was worth it for the variety and convenience. It seemed very quiet at breakfast most mornings so not sure if everyone else was still in bed!!

The hotel is a little way out of the city - there are not many places to eat and drink nearby. We didn't mind this at all but I can understand that for some guests a 15/ 20 minute walk to get to the 'action' might be a bit far. The Sofitel bar and Azur restaurant across the complex are both excellent though if a little pricey.

We paid 400 RMB to get there and back to the Warriors and only 35RMB to get to the hotel from the Xian North train station. This was in a green and yellow public taxi. Beware of other taxi drivers trying to get you into one without a meter!! Its about 30 mins to the North Train Station and around 1 hour to get to the Warriors.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back - i.e. not facing the square - are near a sports arena of some sort and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time, I am very concerned to read from your comments related to check-in experience. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, but we are grateful that you shared this with us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    232
    78
    21
    7
See reviews for
90
200
40
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Reservation made by china tours. Hotel do not deserve being part of accor/ mercure chain.Manager / reception staff speak a very poor english . No room service after 10:00 pm. Poor breakfast and important ROOMS DOS NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING I!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel if you need A/C to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Xian. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought it to the attention of the relative departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We found the Grand Mercure to be the best hotel during our visit to China. The bathrooms were particularly well designed and the room was large, excellent bed and bedding and the song birds in the park complex were magical. Breakfast was terrific.

Room Tip: Given the park setting all rooms are very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here with an organized tour group. We arrived just after dark and the security gate was shut so we had to wait to get to our hotel. When we finally arrived our bags were taken from the bus and left on the footpath outside the hotel. Checkin seemed to be a chore for the lady on the desk and took some time. The hotel was quite empty. It is a very big place with three hotel wings. For some reason our tour group was split up over the three wings, ( there was only 9 of us in the group) we finally got to our room and it was beautiful. Very large beds (the mattress was quite hard as usual with Asian hotels). A huge bathroom with separate bath and shower. The gardens in the hotel complex were beautiful and the hotel itself was conveniently situated close to a subway and restaurants as well a supermarket.
Breakfast was included and it was western and Asian with plenty of variety and freshly cooked. The maple strip bacon was delicious.
I found the staff to be quite unfriendly and not helpful at all and very few knew English. The cleaning staff were by far the friendliest.
As with all Non smoking hotels in china, they still smoke and ignore the non smoking signs. They also spit everywhere, which I find disgusting. Especially when you are eating.
Overall it was a beautiful grand hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: The hotel only has 3 levels and is located well of the main road so the road noise is to a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time, I am very concerned to read from your comments related to our team members' English proficiency and service attitude. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, but we are grateful that you shared this with us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Beautiful hotel located inside a very green complex, together with Sofitel, Acor and Mercure. We were booked in the Mercure hotel by the agency but received an upgrade to the Grand Mercure, which was awesome. The hotel is very fancy, the breakfast with many options and the bedroom was very spacious, specially the bathroom. Comfortable bed and quite sleep. You can use the facilities of the neighboring hotels, such as the pool and bars of Sofitel as well as the gym and sauna of Mercure. Very nice stay. The area is quite busy, you can walk to many shopping centers and shops in the main street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked this hotel online. Luckily my husband always brings the confirmations with him printed. After 20 hours in airports we were so tired. We got there and check in took forever. They said we most likely were in the Mercure but we wanted the Grand Mercure and our print out indicated tbat this is what we paid for. Our room was wonderful with a 95 inch king bed and a very functional washroom. The breakfast buffet had everything both local and Western. The service was impecable and everyone was friendly. english is not well spoken but it is China. Met a teacher from the USA who lives out of Xian and she said this was her favourite hotel breakfast. This hotel is near the Sofitel and is more reasonable. When we checked out we asked if we should give them our Accord number having never used it. The lady at the desk then told us we had been upgraded to this hotel. Really....they copied our reservation which clearly stated the Grand Mercure. They made THEIR problem our problem. Stay there but print everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Drive from the airport takes about 45min by taxi, 150 rmb with the green taxi and 180 rmb with the black taxi. The complex is represented by Arcor hotels only. You will find a Sofitel, a Mercur and a Grand Mercur right next to each other. The Hotel is located quite nice, it is only a 20min walk to the bell tower and the southern entrance of the city wall.

The garden area of the hotel is really nice and inviting. The entrance area of the Grand Mercur looks luxury but somehow it feels really cold inside, even the reception-stuff is wearing coats. Makes you feel uncomfortable. Check in was quick and alright. Doormen are very helpful and friendly.

Rooms are well equipped but starting to look old fashion. It is clean and the bed is comfortable. The hotel needs to renew the sockets because we could only use the one in the bathroom for recharging our electronic devices. In the main room our plugs couldn´t get “a hold”.

Breakfast room is in the fourth floor. The variety of warm and cold food is okay for a four star hotel. But nothing special. They keep the boiled eggs in a warm chafing dish, so the inside of the egg gets black. Not really nice for an European.

Swimming pool and gym can be used in the Sofitel. It is really luxury, clean and inviting. For dinner we ate at the Azur Wine and Dine at the Sofitel, which was tasty, fresh and served by a friendly stuff. Also we can recommend drinking a wine in the lobby lounge and listen to the piano player.

All in one it was a good stay for two nights. If we visit Xi’an once again, we will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#46 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.