We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but noisy, no wifi that was promised and ac didn't work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,977 hotels in Xi'an
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean but noisy, no wifi that was promised and ac didn't work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We were to have two king rooms but they gave us queen bed rooms. WiFi didn't work at all in the rooms and intermittently in the lobby. Even our guide had trouble on his cell phone in lobby. The soccer stadium behind us with blaring loud speaker started at 7:30 am and played into the night Saturday, Sunday and we think schools played on Monday. We couldn't open the windows due to noise and mosquitos, though the air conditioning didn't really cool the room. The front desk tried to help, but their English was a bit limited. Breakfast had enough choices for all, including eggs to order. Not really the best fora Mercure

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    200
    67
    16
    6
See reviews for
79
168
37
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in two other grand mercure hotels on my trip and again this one was very modern and clean. Room 2222 was a little small but comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with eggs made to order and a large selection of fruits cereals and pastries. A short stroll to the busy market. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ha Long
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had 3 rooms for a week in Xian. One in our party was missing their cellphone charger left plugged in the wall on day 4. Although reporting it to front desk, we had little hope of its return as they didn't record our loss and never asked the room number until I asked if they wanted it. We kept valuables in the room safe but didn't think that would include phone charger!

I would have given this hotel 4 stars as the staff was friendly, knowledgeable and even maids spoke some English. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location and free umbrellas for rainy days. Some inter-room noise heard and bathroom could use refurbishing (recaulked bath and no sink plunger.) Tasty food served in elegant restaurants although cheaper, authentic Xian food found nearby. Great fitness center at Sofitel next door that Mercure guests can use.

Room Tip: If booking more than one room, ask for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Large luxury Hotel Complex well located between the shopping strip with fast food outlets just 10 minutes walk to the left or the Drum and Bell Tower which is 15 minutes to the right. There is also a large market near the Bell Tower and an ancient Mosque. Rooms are compact but comfortable. The bed seems small and is hard and lumpy. Cable Interent and breakfast is very good. Nice Piano Bar at the Sofitel next door with AUD$7 Coronas and Cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

noisy hotel, demolition next door, faulty audio system leaving dreadful music blaring throughout the hotel. No on site facilities, they are all in the sofitel on the other side of the square. This is very difficult to access if you have any mobility problems... Also unpleasant when it rains! The ramps into the hotel were too steep for an electric wheelchair. The breakfast was in the hotel but there was no other form of restaurant, bar or coffee shop in the grand mercure... Only across the square in the sofitel. Which was priced accordingly as a 6-star would be! We ended up having to get room service which seemed a shame, when we had expected to be able to sit with some atmosphere in the bar and restaurant that we were led to believe were present. Rooms were a bit tired but ok. Staff were friendly and helped where they could.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Mercure Xian for two days in August 2012 for vacation/sightseeing.

The hotel is conveniently located in walking distance to most of the sights in Xian (Bell Tower, Mosque, City Wall all within 15-30 minutes walk). Taxis appear to be easily available as well.

The Grand Mercure is located at 'Renmin Square', a gated compound, shared between Sofitel, Grand Mercure and Mercure Hotels. Most restaurants and other facilities are located in the Sofitel.
There is also another building in between all of them that is in the middle of deconstruction - if you are noise sensitive (we are not), ask for a room on the opposing side!

The Grand Mercure feels and looks very 'dated' (aka leftover from the 80s). However, the room was reasonably sized and clean. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful, although not overly proactive.
The breakfast buffet was good and reasonably prized.

All in all, the Grand Mercure was clean and offered good value. We would come back here, unless Mercure or Sofitel offer a better deal on the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#8 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#46 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xi'An On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.