We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

noisy hotel, demolition next door, faulty audio system leaving dreadful music blaring throughout the hotel. No on site facilities, they are all in the sofitel on the other side of the square. This is very difficult to access if you have any mobility problems... Also unpleasant when it rains! The ramps into the hotel were too steep for an electric wheelchair. The breakfast was in the hotel but there was no other form of restaurant, bar or coffee shop in the grand mercure... Only across the square in the sofitel. Which was priced accordingly as a 6-star would be! We ended up having to get room service which seemed a shame, when we had expected to be able to sit with some atmosphere in the bar and restaurant that we were led to believe were present. Rooms were a bit tired but ok. Staff were friendly and helped where they could.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    278
    87
    22
    8
See reviews for
110
244
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Mercure Xian for two days in August 2012 for vacation/sightseeing.

The hotel is conveniently located in walking distance to most of the sights in Xian (Bell Tower, Mosque, City Wall all within 15-30 minutes walk). Taxis appear to be easily available as well.

The Grand Mercure is located at 'Renmin Square', a gated compound, shared between Sofitel, Grand Mercure and Mercure Hotels. Most restaurants and other facilities are located in the Sofitel.
There is also another building in between all of them that is in the middle of deconstruction - if you are noise sensitive (we are not), ask for a room on the opposing side!

The Grand Mercure feels and looks very 'dated' (aka leftover from the 80s). However, the room was reasonably sized and clean. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful, although not overly proactive.
The breakfast buffet was good and reasonably prized.

All in all, the Grand Mercure was clean and offered good value. We would come back here, unless Mercure or Sofitel offer a better deal on the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Comfortable and classic, the Grand Mercure had English speaking staff who were very helpful. A big buffet breakfast was the icing on the cake. Also, Grand Mercure guests can use all the facilities of its sister hotel the Sofitel which is in the same compound and just a minute away. With three good restaurants to choose from our favourite was Azur: a daily buffet dinner and a competent a la carte menu gave us enough to pick and choose from depending on our appetite quotient!
Great location, the hotel is just a short taxi ride or a 20 minute walk from the Muslim Quarter and the Grand Mosque which is where all the action is...a bustling market and lots of local restaurants!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked this hotel for 1 night based on tripadvisor reviews. It was a short stay as we didn't arrive to the hotel until 9:30pm and checkout out by 8:30am the next day.

The area is gated and is part of a group of hotels (Sofitel, Grand Mercure and Mercure).

Nice big bathroom with tub and shower. Bed was the biggest bed I've ever slept in.

Wish I had some more time to explore around the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

An building within this Hotel complex was being renovated, with jackhammers, excavation equipment and trucks. They continued to work until 2.00am and it was impossible to sleep.
I rang reception and complained at 10.30pm. Then at 11.30pm I got dressed and went down to reception and asked for the manager. He said sorry and offered us upgraded rooms on the other side of the hotel, away from the noise. By this time it was too late to move so we decided to stay, moving the next morning.
Why did they place us in those rooms in the first place?? We felt we were treated like second class citizens.
We also felt that as we have received a 'discount' thru Accor, then we were treated with less care and respect by Mercure.
The only other comment is that the breakfast provided at the Mercure was 'basic'. Maybe the Mercure is just an overflow site for the upmarket sofatel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Like many other Chinese operated large chain hotels, this hotel suffers from poor maintenance, being adjacent to a very large 24 hour construction site and very bad air conditioning. The toilets work part of the time and the bathrooms are wrought with mould. Stay away from the whirlpool in the bathrooms as they are not maintained.

The staff are nice and really try to help but don't really know how to do so.

Don't bother with the spa services. I had a Chinese massage and a pedicure. They brought out the maintenance guy who used his tool kit to cut my nails, and it hurt like heck. No polish, foot massage or callous clean-up

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction. Both the front and back of the hotel have major construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was unexpected. Great rooms. Incredible bathroom with walk in shower. Good staff. In a quiet neighborhood. Hotel has wifi. I was on second floor. Great signal there. This hotel is part of the Sofitel which is right next door. Recommend going to there buffet. This will restaurant will redefine the word buffet. Wow. Sushi. Seafood. Expensive but worth it. Also the lights are controlled by a device on the nightstand. Very cool once you realize their are no light switches on the walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#9 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#15 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#41 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.