We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 529 Reviews
Bombay, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Service with a smile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Comfortable and classic, the Grand Mercure had English speaking staff who were very helpful. A big buffet breakfast was the icing on the cake. Also, Grand Mercure guests can use all the facilities of its sister hotel the Sofitel which is in the same compound and just a minute away. With three good restaurants to choose from our favourite was Azur: a daily buffet dinner and a competent a la carte menu gave us enough to pick and choose from depending on our appetite quotient!
Great location, the hotel is just a short taxi ride or a 20 minute walk from the Muslim Quarter and the Grand Mosque which is where all the action is...a bustling market and lots of local restaurants!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    232
    78
    21
    7
See reviews for
90
202
40
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked this hotel for 1 night based on tripadvisor reviews. It was a short stay as we didn't arrive to the hotel until 9:30pm and checkout out by 8:30am the next day.

The area is gated and is part of a group of hotels (Sofitel, Grand Mercure and Mercure).

Nice big bathroom with tub and shower. Bed was the biggest bed I've ever slept in.

Wish I had some more time to explore around the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

An building within this Hotel complex was being renovated, with jackhammers, excavation equipment and trucks. They continued to work until 2.00am and it was impossible to sleep.
I rang reception and complained at 10.30pm. Then at 11.30pm I got dressed and went down to reception and asked for the manager. He said sorry and offered us upgraded rooms on the other side of the hotel, away from the noise. By this time it was too late to move so we decided to stay, moving the next morning.
Why did they place us in those rooms in the first place?? We felt we were treated like second class citizens.
We also felt that as we have received a 'discount' thru Accor, then we were treated with less care and respect by Mercure.
The only other comment is that the breakfast provided at the Mercure was 'basic'. Maybe the Mercure is just an overflow site for the upmarket sofatel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Like many other Chinese operated large chain hotels, this hotel suffers from poor maintenance, being adjacent to a very large 24 hour construction site and very bad air conditioning. The toilets work part of the time and the bathrooms are wrought with mould. Stay away from the whirlpool in the bathrooms as they are not maintained.

The staff are nice and really try to help but don't really know how to do so.

Don't bother with the spa services. I had a Chinese massage and a pedicure. They brought out the maintenance guy who used his tool kit to cut my nails, and it hurt like heck. No polish, foot massage or callous clean-up

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction. Both the front and back of the hotel have major construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was unexpected. Great rooms. Incredible bathroom with walk in shower. Good staff. In a quiet neighborhood. Hotel has wifi. I was on second floor. Great signal there. This hotel is part of the Sofitel which is right next door. Recommend going to there buffet. This will restaurant will redefine the word buffet. Wow. Sushi. Seafood. Expensive but worth it. Also the lights are controlled by a device on the nightstand. Very cool once you realize their are no light switches on the walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Grand Mercure is part of a huge complex of Accor hotels in Renmin Square. Our bedroom and bathroom were luxurious and well equipped - we did have a bit of a problem wiith the high tech device for operating the lights, as it is difficult to find the right bit of touch pad in the dark, but that's a minor quibble! The room was very comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and room service was extremely efficient. It's a long walk to breakfast, but well worth the trek. And the hotel is very well located for exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I visited the Shaanxi/Henan region over the course of a week , using Xi'an as a base between locations. Because I was coming and going, I happened to stay in the three Accure group hotels in Renmin Square on three separate nights - the Sofitel, the Grand Mercure and the Mercure. I've seen a couple of reviews recommending one over the other, and given my experience I have quickly compared and contrasted the experiences below.

As background, all of the Accure Group hotels are located in Renmin Square which rather than being a proper public square or intersection is actually a gated area with just the hotels. It's about a 15 minute walk to the old city wall in one direction and about a 20 minute walk to the Bell Tower district in the other direction. It's central, but not in the middle of things. There are always taxis waiting outside, so it's never a problem to hop into one. Guests at any of the three hotels can use the facilities at the Sofitel (pool, gym, bar, restaurants, spa), which is great for those at the Grand Mercure and Mercure. Guests staying at the Grand Mercure and Mercure can upgrade their breakfasts to the Sofitel breakfast, which is recommended for those who like a good breakfast.

The Sofitel is obviously the nicest - and most expensive - property. As you would expect, the hotel is very new, the rooms are large, the bathrooms luxurious and the entire place very tastefully decorated. There is a pool (which was not crowded at the times I wanted to use it), a bar, and a number of nice restaurants. The breakfast buffet is Western oriented and top class, with great coffee, wonderful fruit, a huge selection of hot food, jams, breads, etc. The service is fine, and whilst the staff doesn't necessarily go out of their way to go above and beyond the call of duty they will assist with anything you need. My conclusion: given the price, this makes sense for people who don't care too much about spending money, people who need extra assistance from the concierge to plan other legs of their journey, and people who really value a good breakfast (although guests at the other hotels can "upgrade" their breakfast to the Sofitel for a small extra charge).

The Grand Mercure is the mid range option, and is quite a large step down from the Sofitel. Whilst it is very clean and comfortable, it is certainly not flash, the decor is feels like it must be about 20 years old and the whole place smells of cigarette smoke. The staff are friendly, but don't bother asking the concierge-slash-bell boy to do anything but store your bags for you. The breakfast is fine, with a lot of options and decent coffee. My conclusion: Not any better than the Mercure (see below) unless you really value more options at breakfast (in which case you should stay at the Mercure and pay the extra to upgrade to the Sofitel breakfast).

The Mercure the budget option of the three, it is more or less on a par with the Grand Mercure except it feels positioned as slightly more downmarket (there are posters on the wall rather than paintings), the rooms are smaller (not a problem from my perspective), and the breakfast is not as good (the coffee was pretty bad, the fruit certainly not great). It is extremely clean, extremely comfortable and actually feels fresher than the Grand Mercure. My conclusion: Of the three hotels, value for money is definitely the Mercure. I would recommend staying here, and for those that like a nice breakfast paying the extra charge to upgrade to the Sofitel breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#44 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.