We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Museum

Xi'an Museum
72 Youyi Xilu, Xi'an 710068, China
029-8780 3591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 248 attractions in Xi'an
Type: Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Didn't go into the museum but walked around the small goose pagoda. You won't need to spend much time here but lovely to see. Fascinating to hear how an earthquake previously seriously cracked the pagoda and then 200 years ago another one closed it again. Its been standing for hundreds of years which is amazing since its stuck together with sand and sticky rice!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    81
    28
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A wet morning in Xi'an!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Perhaps I got less out of this because of the very english weather we were treated to that morning! The pagoda was ok-just! I'm crtain it would have looked better in sunshine. Inevitable renovation going on on site!

Museum was better and an excellent escape from rain!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“City plan for 1,000 years long, from Qin to Ming Dynasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A great place to spend for one afternoon in Xian. If you are interested in City PLan, the exhibition for Xian city plan from Qin, Han, Sui, Tang and Ming Dynasty with different locations is worthwhile to visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Part of 14 day tour of China with Travel China Guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

You might well OD on museums in China, but each is different. The key is to visit at your own pace and try to have a guide that knows the history if possible. We did not rent the earphones available and that might have been worthwhile, but we did not want to spend time at EACH display. Our guide pretty much suggested we roam through the museum for an hour and then we walked through park at the Small Goose Pagoda. This area is undergoing some construction (possibly rebuilding some original walls) but is a very nice park and worth the visit. You can visit both in 2 - 3 hours or spend the day - your call

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection of artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The museum has a wonderful collection - nice peaceful location in the middle fo the city. surrounded by gardens and water with the small goose pagoda - lovely location. The surrounding area had a lot of construction going taking place around the shops and gardens - once that is done it will be a nice place again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Xi'an Museum to your Saves list