We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great underground museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)

Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)
Zhanjiawan Village, Xi'an, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 247 attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cemeteries, Ballets, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The joint mausoleum of Emperor Jingdi and Empress Wang, his consort.
Semarang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great underground museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the last item on our Xian trip and we wanted to see what the supposedly first ever large scale underground museum in the world will look like. We came away very impressed with the whole structures and the items on display although the actual tomb remains closed to this day. Do not miss this museum on your way from or to the airport as it is very close.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    74
    19
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having seen the Terracottas, this tomb seems boring. With lots of small wooden puppets. There are many other tombs to explore. I would give this place a miss if time is limited

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than the Terracotta Warriors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I will be completely honest, I was somewhat underwhelmed by the Terracotta Warriors. Don't get me wrong, I find the discovery and history of the warriors themselves absolutely amazing, it is just that for the total cost and the distance from Xi-an there is not a great deal to see at the actual site that isn't in photos you have most likely already seen. The Tomb of Emperor Jingdi, on the other hand, was incredibly impressive. It is very easy to access - Happy22Share's directions below are spot on and make it significantly cheaper than an organised tour. The bus is very easy to navigate as it is the first and last stop. The displays are informative and have both English and French translations and the 20 minute video near the shop at the end is amazing. Obviously the Terracotta Warriors are a must see but please do not miss this!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great to see after visiting the Warriors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was great to visit after the Warriors.
Do understand how the Qin Emperor thought and wanted to come back in the future is amazing.
There are multiple levels to view.
The displays and exhibits are unique and excellent.
It is a great way understand the history of the Emperor.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As what everyone said, this is really good! Different from Terrocatta..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's impressive enough for me to tell you to go for it. It's near the airport, so make it either your first trip or the last one before departing Xian.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling) also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.