We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurum International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aurum International to your Saves list
Aurum International
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.30 Nanxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 130 Reviews
South Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Aurum International Hotel, Xian, China

A former classmate has been working on a World Bank project nearby and recommended this hotel.

The location is nice. It is adjacent to the Shaanxi Provncial Government Center. It is about 4 blocks from the Bell Tower, the very center of Xian. A couple of blocks away is a pedestrian walk that has many restaurants, including Burger King, McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, and a Walmart.

I was upgraded to a mini-suite, a living room with a desk and a bedroom. Each room has an old-fashioned Chinese TV. There were no international channels. Internet was included. Everything worked. Housekeeping was nice and cleaned my room twice a day. Lighting for reading in bed was terrible. The entire hotel looks kind of old.

Food was terrible. I tried the RMB 50 breakfast buffet. The coffee was so bad that I switched to tea, to the consternation of the waitress. I also tried their RMB 58 lunch buffet and found the same things served. I resorted to buying things at a nearby bakery for breakfast.

There is a full menu of massages available. There is no hanky-panky.

My major disappointment was the gym was closed "from now on."

Some hints

* In the first named alley south of the Aurum, Nan Chang Xiang, there is a good fruit stand.

* It is better to buy beer from convenience stores than the myraids of "Tobacco/Alcohol" places.

* The Walmart has a good selection of Chinese wines. More importantly, they were resting on their sides.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    65
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
10
30
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Not really 4 star hotel but average for western expectations. No wifi but convenient location. Staff can speak english and is helpfull. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

No problem with this stay at all. If the main cretium for any internet booking is "does it do what is says on the box"? Then this one is the one that delivers on all counts. Good english spoken by those who count and we enjyed the one night we spent there. A bit old fashioned in the decor dept. but that had its own charm.......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel was very good and elegant.
Rooms are very clean.
Most of the staff speaks english.
The breakfast and dinner buffet were very reach.
Location is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a standard room, which clearly states the option of twin beds or a king bed, flat panel tv and high speed internet. What we got was a double bed (as hard as you could possibly imagine), very dirty carpets, very dates rooms and wired internet which would compare possibly to dial up speeds on a good day. Flat panel in this hotel means, that the screen is flat, ie the old CRT tvs, not a plasma or lcd. Oh and the safe was locked too.

I don't often complain, but this one rates pretty low. We immediately went downstairs to explain our disappointment with the false advertising and we were offered a larger room, same bed side, same dirty carpet, in a non-smoking room which reaks of a chain smoker. upgraded room heaps of street noise.

Not happy....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here on our first trip to Xi'An. The room was booked by our travel agent and it suited us fine. The rooms are not just somewhat small but quite tiny! If you intend to spend a lot of time in the room, perhaps ask for a larger room or stay elsewhere!
The facilities of the room were first clas, internet, important to me, was excellent. Beds comfortable, linen clean and fresh bathroom, tight, but sufficient room to do what was required, light and clean!
Breakfast buffet was magnificent! A real bonanza of various foods, much more than once could possibly taste in a few days! As travellers to china will know, breakfast can be an experience at a good hotel and this is one of the best! We only ate lunch and dinner here once each, as we wanted to experieince various eateries of which there are always plenty in China!
Staff, were busy, but always gracious and ready to help, only a few had trouble with English, but it caused no problems or delays.

Room Tip: If you need more than alittle room other your bed, ask for a bigger room before you finalise your bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The 'Aurum International Hotel' sign proudly lit up outside and the welcome lobby only serves to hide a multitude of sins so beware of staying at this location. Indeed, having travelled quite extensively around the globe for the past 20 years I regretfully have to say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

We were travelling in a party of 20 couples on a group tour and things did not start very well when the porters had no idea which luggage had to go to which rooms and ended up leaving most of the suitcases in a pile outside the lift on the 17th floor. I literally had to climb over a dozen other cases to reach mine and lug it to our room myself.

The luggage, however, was the least of my problems as the room itself was an absolute disgrace. The carpet was just a mass of stains that was interspersed with cigarette burns and the remnants of a previous occupant's food, and the wall was covered in dirty black marks. As for the bathroom - well, paint and plaster was hanging down from the ceiling and the grouting was black and dirty.

We did manage to change rooms after complaining and our next room could best be described as 'bearable' - apart from the socket hanging off the wall exposing live wires and virtually no loo paper in the bathroom !

Now, lest you think that we were just unfortunate by having one bad room it is relevant that out of our party of 20 couples at least 9 couples asked to change rooms and we know of others that were equally disgusted by the state of their accommodation. These are facts which speak for themselves and requiire no further comment from me !

This is never a 4-star International Hotel - the rooms were more like a seedy bed and breakfast in a downtrodden backstreet. Avoid if you possibly can.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurum International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum International

Address: No.30 Nanxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#130 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aurum International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum International Hotel Xi`An
Aurum International Xi An
Aurum International China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurum International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.