We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hardest beds in China” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canaan International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canaan International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canaan International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.132 East Street, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hardest beds in China”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

When we first arrived at the entry to the hotel we thought we were in a slum area. As it turns out the area was not that bad. We found restaurants and shopping malls and markets within easy walk. The room itself was not that bad, Iv'e been in worse but for US$31.00 we could have done better. Our freinds paid US$45.00 for deluxe room and all they got was 5 sq metres more. Our bookings were through Agoda and both rooms were to have a minibar but niether did. Xian with the Warriors would not get any visitors and is the most polluted city we have seen.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    48
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
7
11
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel should be closed. It is unfit to stay in. The sewer odor alone makes it unbearable. This hotel was booked for me by Great Wall Adventure Club Tour Organization. When I complained, all they could say was sorry. I have stayed in a lot of 3 star hotels. This one is a 0 star and would be closed down in the USA.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked a basic room on Expedia and were horrified by what we were offered so we upgraded to a "better" renovated room (About $5 more a night). This room was still a bit run down and not very clean. Bathroom had some bad sewer odours and the water stopped working for a few hours. Staff don't speak much English. Location, while within the walled city, seemed remote for restaurants and getting to the wall. Included breakfast is NOT to western tastes.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheapest rooms. They have not been upgraded in decades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stay at this hotel for 3 nights.. Room was very clean and bright.. Even thou it was off the main road and on a side street.. staff was very good also.. as manager came up to speak english to me and explain many things.. The onther thing i had to complain about was the food service.. As breakfast came with the room everyday.. but sevice was very poor. as we had to chase them down to get water to drink or find napkins on our own.. also the food wasn;t the great either.. But over all we enjoyed the stay there as we visited many sights in this beautiful city with much history..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel may seem like a deal pricewise (320 Yuan per night) but even the old saying "you get what you pay for" would not apply to this terrible hotel. Off the beaten path of almost all transportation for hire, most cabs refuse to even go there. Its strange because its not really remote or far from the city sights, but for whatever reason it is what it is. The hotel staff say your only reliable transportation is the city bus a few blocks away. I suppose if you're travelling light (advisable) you can walk til you get to a bus or find a cab willing to pick you up (another problem around the city is getting a cab to stop, really, they don't stop often). Then there's the hotel; perhaps at first glance as you walk around the corner and see the hotel facade, the revolving door and old spacious lobby, you might feel a little relief that its an okay place. You might also not care that as you walk into that lobby that the cigarette smell is overwhelming (and we're not non-smoking nazis, really), so perhaps when the not so friendly desk staff finally get around to checking you in you go find your room. There you'll find equally stinky rooms (we tried numerous rooms until one that did not bring tears to our eyes) with moldy tiles in the bathrooms, dirty wall paper and water stains on the ceilings. The beds are not really beds, rather they are plywood with a thin layer of foam underneath, not even resembling a mattress at all. The toilet clogged every day we stayed, par for the course. We brought our 3 y/o there and did our best to stay out of the hotel as much as possible.
There plenty of better hotels in Xi'an in the surrounding areas, but they do cost a little more. Well worth the expense in our opinion. We like to be frugal ourselves, always happy to save a few bucks.....but this was not worth it.

Room Tip: We could not think of any tips other than pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

First of all, this hotel is difficult to find as the name of the hotel is only in Chinese. Second, during evening there are no English speakers at the front desk. You have the manager if you have questions.
The hotel looks like as there hasn't been maintenance for a very long time! Especially the 4th floor with the restaurant, there are aquaria with death fish....
There is smoke everywhere. There is one floor which is a nonsmoking floor (14th), but even there people smoked. I guess this is more a hotel for Chinese. We have told about bad reviews on booking.com (bed bugs, dirty room etc.) that we were scared for this hotel and immediately we got an upgrade. Therefore, we were not in the standard room. Our room was ok, but it felt like the air-conditioning was set off during the night.
I would not recommend this hotel. Please pay a little more to go to another hotel. I am not used to expensive hotels and traveled last year from hostel to hostel, but this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I cam t to Xian for a few days last week and was pleasantly surprised by the great
accommodationat the New Canaan International Hotel.The room was clean and beautiful,with air conditioning.The cleaning staffcleaned the room regularly to a
sparkling standard.The staff were very polite and friendly and made me feel very welcome.I was delighted by the excellent customer service,and highly reccommend
this hotel to any visitor to Xi'an,especiallyWestern tourists as the reception staff
speak amazing English.They were very helpfuleven organising myTeracotta Warriors
Tour etc. I'll defintelystay there again next time I'm in Xian. Top service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canaan International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan International Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Canaan International
Canaan International Xi An
Canaan International Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.132 East Street, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canaan International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Canaan International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaan International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.