We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Orient Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Hotel Xi'an
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Retro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel was old but satisfactory, quiet and comfortable, a bit tired but I have stayed in worse, price was good 300rmb, this included dinner discount vouchers and breakfast, but don’t expect a western style breakfast, you are in China after all, the revolving restaurant was novel and the buffet meal adequate, beer and wine was free with the meal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    122
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
2
4
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My mother and I travelled on a Wendy Wu Tour in April and The Orient Hotel was one of the hotels we stayed in. We didn't have high expectations of the hotels in China, but we were hoping they would be clean. The bathroom had cracked tiles with mould on them and the towel rail was barely hanging on the wall. The walls had wallpaper lifting from them and the carpets were filthy dirty. We met fellow travellers one night at the hotel bar for a drink and it was very clear the bar staff had no formal bar training, especially as one of the staff asked a male traveller to open a bottle of wine. We also had a laugh when they didn't know the difference between red wine and white wine!
The porters managed to break a wheel off my suitcase when they collected it from outside our room and when I questioned them about this no one seemed to speak English (conveniently!). Needless to say, we won't be staying in this tired and worn out hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

You might end up at this hotel if you book the 3 star Wendy Wu tour. It is quite a nice hotel with clean rooms but let down by a tatty bathrooms - i think the mould on the silicone is the result of incompetent and excessive application of the sealant around the bathroom. The main thing is the bathroom as well as the room is clean. You get great views from the restaurant which may have revolved in the past but had ceased to do the business when we stayed. The carre four supermarket is useful for stocking up on snacks.

All in all an above average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Stayed here as part of a Wendy Wu tour. Would totally agree with AztecAdelaide's review. It is not a bad hotel, but it is some distance from the walled city. Our room was quiet and clean, but the bathroom did suffer with mould in the grout around the tiles. Internet is 5 yuan for 10 mins.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Orient Hotel in Xian is not too far from the many sights of the city and in itself is a comfortable if yet slightly dated hotel.

The rooms were comfortable although the bed was a little hard for my liking and the carpets were in dire need of a good steam clean it was a pleasant stay. The bathrooms were typical of hotels in China small but clean with a shower in the bath.

It certainly wasn't the worst hotel that I have stayed in and considering the country we were in it was better than expected.

We found the breakfast to be adequate with sufficient western food to appease most appetites and the staff were reasonably friendly and courteous.

If the owners cleaned it up a bit it would have rated higher.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

Nice looking hotel foyer.
Rooms very tired and need renovating. Very cold, hotel could not put heating on. Had to use hair dryer in bathroom to keep warm.
Good situation next to Carrefour supermarket.
Great views from breakfast revolving restaurant.
Had good dinner in main restaurant.

  • Liked — Breakfast location
  • Disliked — Temperature of room, and very hard beds
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

While I agree that Xian was one of the 'Lowlights' of our 21 day trip to China, we found the Oriental Hotel to have an attractive Exterior and foyer along with quite adequate rooms with nice soft beds.
As with most hotels we stayed at in China, the bathrooms were all heavy with mould, but still had very clean linen, changed daily if required.
The Correfours supermarket next door was very handy to shop for all those things you forgot to bring, ( and to replace the suitcases that the airport baggage handlers managed to wreck beyond belief ).
Its saving grace, I think was the good buffet breakfast, as the traffic noise was very loud indeed and the airconditioning almost non existent.
While it was quite clean and comfortable, I don't think I'd choose to stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice soft beds
  • Disliked — The noise and lack of airconditioning
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orient Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#139 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Hotel Xi'an 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Orient Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Orient Xi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.