We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good mid-range choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Orient Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Hotel Xi'an
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 2,024 hotels in Xi'an
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“A good mid-range choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the start of a Wendy Wu 'Silk Road Explorer' tour in September 2013.
The hotel was probably among the best in town when opened in 1992, and is now a good mid-range choice although it could do with some refurbishment, including new carpets.
Our room (1302) was clean and comfortable, with a flat screen TV ( with Channel News Asia and Al Jazeera in English), a small fridge with two free bottles of water daily, a kettle and two tea bags ( no coffee or milk). The bed was a bit too hard (as usual in China), but the room was quiet at night apart from some road traffic noise, the lights were good for reading in bed and we slept well. The air conditioning was too warm at first, but the housekeeping staff soon adjusted it for us.
The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water, towels, soap and shampoo ( as well as combs and toothbrushes), and we didn't notice any of the tobacco smells or cockroaches noted by some previous reviewers. It seems that some reviewers freak out at the sight or thought of a mosquito or cockroach, but they would have to work hard to find any here.
The breakfast area on the 20th floor had a good choice of Chinese and Western items including cereal, yoghurt and tinned fruit, and a 360 degree view of the city. The dinner in the 2nd floor banquet area was too bland for our taste.
The staff were helpful and lent us an adaptor for our electronic stuff. One of the reception staff spoke English very well, but the housekeeping staff and other reception staff had only basic English.
The lobby is impressive, and there is a souvenir shop and an ATM that accepted our Mastercard.
We did not find much of interest in the vicinity of the hotel, and there was nowhere to buy items like fruit, snacks, milk, coffee or an adaptor; the Bread Talk shop about 50m to the left of the entrance sells fruit juice for Y10 (quite expensive for a small bottle). The large supermarket a few doors further on sells mainly clothing, jewellery and other luxury goods, but does also have a pharmacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    122
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
2
4
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Smokers will love this hotel...they needn't even light up a cigarette...just breathe in the air, from the reception that reeks of tobacco, to the rooms that overpower you with the odour....beds, pillows, sheets and towels...all of them smell...a serious problem in this hotel!

I asked for a non-smoking room..what a fool I was....expecting something that's normal in a hotel. It seems this is not a tourist hotel, more a Chinese business one and lets anyone smoke in any of the rooms...charming!

After complaining. we got an upgrade, but that's mainly to do with telling them about misleading information given on their English website, also seen on the Agoda and other hotel reservation sites...i.e. That they have an indoor and outdoor swimming pool...which they don't!

I can truly say that first room given was one of the worse I have ever entered...one night was suffered until they changed us....mould everywhere...reeking of tobacco...the yellow décor was not an original internal design, but coloured by the tobacco.... filthy doors, with a dubious brown stain on the door of the bathroom!....wall paper stained from years of use and hanging off the wall....carpets dirty and stained....I guess the room hasn't had a makeover since the place open. At least the upgrade was a little better with newer furniture, but still had a nasty smell....there were interesting blobs of chewing gum looking marks on the carpet and very noisy from the 24 hour traffic. From one side of the building you get the traffic, the other side are building works...you takes your choice!

The grand entrance hall must have been impressive many years ago, but now it's just severely jaded like the rest of the building....the receptionists are dressed smartly, but like so many Chinese workers wearing suits, they're faded with age.

This hotel is not situated in a good area for seeing the tourist sites....buses or taxis would be needed....although it is in a bustling area, full of life.

As a Westerner I would recommend the restaurant chain 'Big Pizza'...one being about 20 minutes away, if you turn right out of hotel...50 Yuan for a buffet style meal (eat as much as you want) with Western food, as well as Chinese...includes soup, desserts, fruits, coffee, tea and beer! Very clean place...highly recommended!

Finally, about the hotel, I would only use it again if I was bound and gagged and dragged in, or had a severe amnesia attack....yes it's that bad! Any slightly discerning punter shouldn't even contemplate this relic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

To be honest, one star is probably more accurate, but since I didn't encounter any insects, get sick from the hotel's food, and wasn't lied to be anyone at reception, I can't give the absolute minimum.
For your own well-being please do not stay here.

I stayed here as part of a tour and the only positive thing I can think to say is that it provided me with an experience I'd missed out on in Poland in 2000, staying in a true over-the-top Communist style hotel. Even if rooms are non-smoking, the hallways are not, and both the smell of my room and the numerous cigarette burns on the floor suggested to me this was not always the case.

The bed was decent enough (although two blankets were necessary even in April and each room only gets two) as was the location. The shower seemed to have been cleaned at some point during the past year, although the water did run brown for a good minute before it warmed up. The paper-thin (indeed paper) slippers and shampoo are only replaced every other day, although towels are changed daily (good thing since they don't dry in the poorly ventilated bathroom.)

The people at the desk were neither good nor bad, but mostly confused, indeed frequently giving people in our group the wrong keys.

In summary, everything was suboptimal and I wouldn't recommend staying here under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the correct room key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in December 2012.
A dated hotel in gloomy December.
First room entered smelt like a gas chamber. Got a second room which was much better. Front desk was could be more friendly.
Double glazed window (very dirty due to bad pollution in the city) but the sound proofing was poor and could hear traffic noise and renovation work at the building next to the hotel.
Room was functional and bright.
Killed 2 different sizes cockroaches in the bathroom on two occasions. There must have a family living there!
Buffet breakfast was very poor on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was well maintained. Buffet breakfast on the top floor was good with plenty of choice. The view from the top floor of the sun rising above the city skyline was amazing. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

An older style hotel with a great looking facade and lobby area but the rooms were not 3 star. Some paint peeling and very strong smell of smoke, even though we requested a non-smoking room . In fact the smell was so strong it almost brought tears to my eyes. To be fair though, as soon as we complained the room was deodorised but this did not completely remove the smell.

The food in the revolving restaurant (not revolving when we visited) was good and no complaints there. The location seemed to be in a busy retail designer area and it was difficult to find other places to eat near the hotel. We tried the coffee shop across the road which was fine but expensive. We eventually found a restaurant for dinner, which was a good 20 minutes walk to a designer looking shopping centre - food here was great and well priced.

China Odyssey Tours I think you can do better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room and check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel was old but satisfactory, quiet and comfortable, a bit tired but I have stayed in worse, price was good 300rmb, this included dinner discount vouchers and breakfast, but don’t expect a western style breakfast, you are in China after all, the revolving restaurant was novel and the buffet meal adequate, beer and wine was free with the meal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orient Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#139 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Hotel Xi'an 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Orient Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Orient Xi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.