We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and Dirty (Two Stars is Being Generous)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Orient Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Hotel Xi'an
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Dated and Dirty (Two Stars is Being Generous)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

To be honest, one star is probably more accurate, but since I didn't encounter any insects, get sick from the hotel's food, and wasn't lied to be anyone at reception, I can't give the absolute minimum.
For your own well-being please do not stay here.

I stayed here as part of a tour and the only positive thing I can think to say is that it provided me with an experience I'd missed out on in Poland in 2000, staying in a true over-the-top Communist style hotel. Even if rooms are non-smoking, the hallways are not, and both the smell of my room and the numerous cigarette burns on the floor suggested to me this was not always the case.

The bed was decent enough (although two blankets were necessary even in April and each room only gets two) as was the location. The shower seemed to have been cleaned at some point during the past year, although the water did run brown for a good minute before it warmed up. The paper-thin (indeed paper) slippers and shampoo are only replaced every other day, although towels are changed daily (good thing since they don't dry in the poorly ventilated bathroom.)

The people at the desk were neither good nor bad, but mostly confused, indeed frequently giving people in our group the wrong keys.

In summary, everything was suboptimal and I wouldn't recommend staying here under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the correct room key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    122
    44
    14
    4
See reviews for
2
5
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in December 2012.
A dated hotel in gloomy December.
First room entered smelt like a gas chamber. Got a second room which was much better. Front desk was could be more friendly.
Double glazed window (very dirty due to bad pollution in the city) but the sound proofing was poor and could hear traffic noise and renovation work at the building next to the hotel.
Room was functional and bright.
Killed 2 different sizes cockroaches in the bathroom on two occasions. There must have a family living there!
Buffet breakfast was very poor on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was well maintained. Buffet breakfast on the top floor was good with plenty of choice. The view from the top floor of the sun rising above the city skyline was amazing. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

An older style hotel with a great looking facade and lobby area but the rooms were not 3 star. Some paint peeling and very strong smell of smoke, even though we requested a non-smoking room . In fact the smell was so strong it almost brought tears to my eyes. To be fair though, as soon as we complained the room was deodorised but this did not completely remove the smell.

The food in the revolving restaurant (not revolving when we visited) was good and no complaints there. The location seemed to be in a busy retail designer area and it was difficult to find other places to eat near the hotel. We tried the coffee shop across the road which was fine but expensive. We eventually found a restaurant for dinner, which was a good 20 minutes walk to a designer looking shopping centre - food here was great and well priced.

China Odyssey Tours I think you can do better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room and check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel was old but satisfactory, quiet and comfortable, a bit tired but I have stayed in worse, price was good 300rmb, this included dinner discount vouchers and breakfast, but don’t expect a western style breakfast, you are in China after all, the revolving restaurant was novel and the buffet meal adequate, beer and wine was free with the meal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My mother and I travelled on a Wendy Wu Tour in April and The Orient Hotel was one of the hotels we stayed in. We didn't have high expectations of the hotels in China, but we were hoping they would be clean. The bathroom had cracked tiles with mould on them and the towel rail was barely hanging on the wall. The walls had wallpaper lifting from them and the carpets were filthy dirty. We met fellow travellers one night at the hotel bar for a drink and it was very clear the bar staff had no formal bar training, especially as one of the staff asked a male traveller to open a bottle of wine. We also had a laugh when they didn't know the difference between red wine and white wine!
The porters managed to break a wheel off my suitcase when they collected it from outside our room and when I questioned them about this no one seemed to speak English (conveniently!). Needless to say, we won't be staying in this tired and worn out hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

You might end up at this hotel if you book the 3 star Wendy Wu tour. It is quite a nice hotel with clean rooms but let down by a tatty bathrooms - i think the mould on the silicone is the result of incompetent and excessive application of the sealant around the bathroom. The main thing is the bathroom as well as the room is clean. You get great views from the restaurant which may have revolved in the past but had ceased to do the business when we stayed. The carre four supermarket is useful for stocking up on snacks.

All in all an above average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orient Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#138 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Hotel Xi'an 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Orient Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Orient Xi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.