We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Hotel Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orient Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Orient Hotel Xi'an
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 2,187 Hotels in Xi'an
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

The Orient Hotel in Xian is not too far from the many sights of the city and in itself is a comfortable if yet slightly dated hotel.

The rooms were comfortable although the bed was a little hard for my liking and the carpets were in dire need of a good steam clean it was a pleasant stay. The bathrooms were typical of hotels in China small but clean with a shower in the bath.

It certainly wasn't the worst hotel that I have stayed in and considering the country we were in it was better than expected.

We found the breakfast to be adequate with sufficient western food to appease most appetites and the staff were reasonably friendly and courteous.

If the owners cleaned it up a bit it would have rated higher.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

Nice looking hotel foyer.
Rooms very tired and need renovating. Very cold, hotel could not put heating on. Had to use hair dryer in bathroom to keep warm.
Good situation next to Carrefour supermarket.
Great views from breakfast revolving restaurant.
Had good dinner in main restaurant.

  • Liked — Breakfast location
  • Disliked — Temperature of room, and very hard beds
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

While I agree that Xian was one of the 'Lowlights' of our 21 day trip to China, we found the Oriental Hotel to have an attractive Exterior and foyer along with quite adequate rooms with nice soft beds.
As with most hotels we stayed at in China, the bathrooms were all heavy with mould, but still had very clean linen, changed daily if required.
The Correfours supermarket next door was very handy to shop for all those things you forgot to bring, ( and to replace the suitcases that the airport baggage handlers managed to wreck beyond belief ).
Its saving grace, I think was the good buffet breakfast, as the traffic noise was very loud indeed and the airconditioning almost non existent.
While it was quite clean and comfortable, I don't think I'd choose to stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice soft beds
  • Disliked — The noise and lack of airconditioning
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AztecAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

This hotel looked grand on entry but our rooms were disappointing and in need of refurbishment.The carpets were very dirty.
Services were satisfactory, business centre was fine.
Dining area on upper floors was nice with a view over parts of the city but not very attractive parts!

  • Liked — Reataurant at top of hotel
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Porepunkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2005

I think it is really a 3 stars hotel. The lobby has a large atrium and gave a good impression on entering but the room was small by comparison with other similar type of hotels I stayed in China. The lighting in the room was poor and the furnishings looked tired. Need a renovation definitely.

Breakfast was provided on the top floor in the revolving restaurant giving a good view from every table. The buffet was not bad. The other restaurants in the hotel was also good.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,187 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yulong International Hotel
Yulong International Hotel
#61 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#17 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#7 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#25 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#103 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Hotel Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Orient Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Orient Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing