We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tang Dinasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #2 of 318 things to do in Xi'an
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
344 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Tang Dinasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

These are the largest and best-preserved ancient fortress in the world. There is a gate in each of the four sides, the gate towers over each gate look lofty and magnificent and form a tight defense engineering system. The best and coolest way to explore it is by rending a bike! You can pay for an hour and get to cycle calmly to two of the four main gates at the top. Below you can see the ancient city on one side and the modern part on the other. Enjoy the view and have fun!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    1,109
    248
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great view from top of the city wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Well the 5th b to venture to top and see how the city was originally protected. Toilet amenities are available on the top of the wall. Push bikes if you are so inclined are availwble for hire to ride around the top of the wall. Some great views of the both sides of the wall to be had.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ya just gotta do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well worth the time. We were not able to rent bikes; but walked a fair distance. The lights at night are spectacular. Spend the money and enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was an unexpected pleasure. We rented a bicycle and toured the entire wall. It was interesting to be able to view the many different buildings, neighborhoods, and contrast those within the wall (the old city) with those outside (the new city). We liked being able to proceed at our own pace, stopping when (and for how long) we wanted. There are some concession stores along the way, so getting something to drink or a snack was quite easy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fun, but hope you're padded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a terrific time biking the wall and highly recommend it! The entire wall is easily doable in less than 90 mins, counting all our photo stops and bathroom visits. There are wonderful views of old architecture mixed w/ new and even temples you get a bird's eye view of. While the smog was troubling, even that is photogenic. The pavement varies in how well it's been maintained, which makes parts of the ride rather jarring, and we were glad we were padded! The bikes are comparable to boardwalk bikes; be sure you take extra cash for a deposit.

The young staff at the entrance very firmly--and with pleasure--informed us that their Student rates were Only for Chinese students, not for US, although our daughter's ID had been accepted everywhere else we'd visited in China, from the Great Wall, to the Terracotta Warriors, to museums in Shanghai. Hmmm.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.