We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tang Dinasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$198*
and up
Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and...
Ranked #3 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 2,288 Reviews
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
224 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Tang Dinasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

These are the largest and best-preserved ancient fortress in the world. There is a gate in each of the four sides, the gate towers over each gate look lofty and magnificent and form a tight defense engineering system. The best and coolest way to explore it is by rending a bike! You can pay for an hour and get to cycle calmly to two of the four main gates at the top. Below you can see the ancient city on one side and the modern part on the other. Enjoy the view and have fun!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,193
    879
    194
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great view from top of the city wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Well the 5th b to venture to top and see how the city was originally protected. Toilet amenities are available on the top of the wall. Push bikes if you are so inclined are availwble for hire to ride around the top of the wall. Some great views of the both sides of the wall to be had.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ya just gotta do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well worth the time. We were not able to rent bikes; but walked a fair distance. The lights at night are spectacular. Spend the money and enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was an unexpected pleasure. We rented a bicycle and toured the entire wall. It was interesting to be able to view the many different buildings, neighborhoods, and contrast those within the wall (the old city) with those outside (the new city). We liked being able to proceed at our own pace, stopping when (and for how long) we wanted. There are some concession stores along the way, so getting something to drink or a snack was quite easy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun, but hope you're padded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a terrific time biking the wall and highly recommend it! The entire wall is easily doable in less than 90 mins, counting all our photo stops and bathroom visits. There are wonderful views of old architecture mixed w/ new and even temples you get a bird's eye view of. While the smog was troubling, even that is photogenic. The pavement varies in how well it's been maintained, which makes parts of the ride rather jarring, and we were glad we were padded! The bikes are comparable to boardwalk bikes; be sure you take extra cash for a deposit.

The young staff at the entrance very firmly--and with pleasure--informed us that their Student rates were Only for Chinese students, not for US, although our daughter's ID had been accepted everywhere else we'd visited in China, from the Great Wall, to the Terracotta Warriors, to museums in Shanghai. Hmmm.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.