We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rent a bike but watch the clock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$198*
and up
Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and...
Ranked #3 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rent a bike but watch the clock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The City Wall is fantastic, and well worth visiting. The thing to do is to rent a bike and go all the way around. You only get the bike for 100 minutes, though, so keep an eye on the time. I thought there would be no problem, but I stopped so much for pictures that I made it bake with only eight minutes to spare, and that was after going as fast as I could for the last 1/3 of it. Should be fine for reasonably healthy people if you pay attention, and definitely worth a visit. I started at the South Gate (by the Drum and Bell Towers) but I think you can rent a bike at a few other gates as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    875
    191
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a visit here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a fascinating site - the largest original portion of City Wall in China. It's great to climb to the top and walk along between the sentry gates - there's a good view down into the town and across to the more commercial CBD. You can also put your mind back to historic times quite easily here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Biking The City Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were part of a tourthat took us to the wall, but ditched the tour to ride a bicycle on the wall.
We rented a tandem bike (wife cannot ride a bike) at the East gate and rode down past the South gate and turned in the bike at the West gate. We paid Y80 for the tandem bike & a Y300 deposit for 100 minutes. We turned in the bike @ the West gate, showed our receipt and got our deposit back.
Afterwards we walked along West St for 15 minutes to the Bell Tower, next the Drum Tower & then to the adjoining Muslim Quarter.
Finally, we walked 20 minutes from the Muslim Quarter to the Sofitel compound where our hotel (Grand Mercure) was located.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A well-preserved/re-constructed monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The sheer length of the wall is impressive, and you can get the feel of what life in China must have been like in the early imperial years of over two-thousand years ago.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful old wall - an insight into Old China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Other than the Great Wall, this we were told is one of the only ancient walls left in China.
We enjoyed a lovely walk and a bike ride and views from the top especially at night when the wall and the pagodas built on top of the wall are all lit up.

Behind the main entrance to the wall is a market place recreated in the Ming Era style which is very interesting to explore. With the wall, the cobbled street, chinese style curved rooves and red lanterns you could be transported thousands of years back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.