We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a visit here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #2 of 318 things to do in Xi'an
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a visit here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a fascinating site - the largest original portion of City Wall in China. It's great to climb to the top and walk along between the sentry gates - there's a good view down into the town and across to the more commercial CBD. You can also put your mind back to historic times quite easily here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,566
    1,107
    247
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Biking The City Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were part of a tourthat took us to the wall, but ditched the tour to ride a bicycle on the wall.
We rented a tandem bike (wife cannot ride a bike) at the East gate and rode down past the South gate and turned in the bike at the West gate. We paid Y80 for the tandem bike & a Y300 deposit for 100 minutes. We turned in the bike @ the West gate, showed our receipt and got our deposit back.
Afterwards we walked along West St for 15 minutes to the Bell Tower, next the Drum Tower & then to the adjoining Muslim Quarter.
Finally, we walked 20 minutes from the Muslim Quarter to the Sofitel compound where our hotel (Grand Mercure) was located.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A well-preserved/re-constructed monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The sheer length of the wall is impressive, and you can get the feel of what life in China must have been like in the early imperial years of over two-thousand years ago.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful old wall - an insight into Old China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Other than the Great Wall, this we were told is one of the only ancient walls left in China.
We enjoyed a lovely walk and a bike ride and views from the top especially at night when the wall and the pagodas built on top of the wall are all lit up.

Behind the main entrance to the wall is a market place recreated in the Ming Era style which is very interesting to explore. With the wall, the cobbled street, chinese style curved rooves and red lanterns you could be transported thousands of years back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yomitan-son, Japan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The city walls were impressive - granted not on the same scale as the Great Wall, but still fascinating. It was interesting to see the old vs. modern homes next to each other from the wall's vantage point.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.