We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a visit here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 248 attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a visit here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a fascinating site - the largest original portion of City Wall in China. It's great to climb to the top and walk along between the sentry gates - there's a good view down into the town and across to the more commercial CBD. You can also put your mind back to historic times quite easily here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    689
    154
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Biking The City Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were part of a tourthat took us to the wall, but ditched the tour to ride a bicycle on the wall.
We rented a tandem bike (wife cannot ride a bike) at the East gate and rode down past the South gate and turned in the bike at the West gate. We paid Y80 for the tandem bike & a Y300 deposit for 100 minutes. We turned in the bike @ the West gate, showed our receipt and got our deposit back.
Afterwards we walked along West St for 15 minutes to the Bell Tower, next the Drum Tower & then to the adjoining Muslim Quarter.
Finally, we walked 20 minutes from the Muslim Quarter to the Sofitel compound where our hotel (Grand Mercure) was located.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A well-preserved/re-constructed monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The sheer length of the wall is impressive, and you can get the feel of what life in China must have been like in the early imperial years of over two-thousand years ago.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful old wall - an insight into Old China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Other than the Great Wall, this we were told is one of the only ancient walls left in China.
We enjoyed a lovely walk and a bike ride and views from the top especially at night when the wall and the pagodas built on top of the wall are all lit up.

Behind the main entrance to the wall is a market place recreated in the Ming Era style which is very interesting to explore. With the wall, the cobbled street, chinese style curved rooves and red lanterns you could be transported thousands of years back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadena-cho, Japan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The city walls were impressive - granted not on the same scale as the Great Wall, but still fascinating. It was interesting to see the old vs. modern homes next to each other from the wall's vantage point.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) to your Saves list