We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #2 of 318 things to do in Xi'an
Attraction details
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow! What can I say. The wall was built for the protection of the. City which measured 17 square km. inside its wall was self-contained city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,564
    1,105
    246
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a cool 90 minutes biking on the city walls. There's a lot of smog so the view isn't always perfect.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was a scorcher of a day when we visited but we hired a double bike ( 100 yuan I think) and set of around the wall it's a 15km bike ride all paved no cars or if your lazy take an electric golf cart bus. You can just ride between corner towers and enjoy regular ice cream breaks at the kiosks along the way. Allow 3 hrs to enjoy but if you just want to get up take a photo and have a shorter stroll an hour would be ok - but you would kick your self later as it's a really interesting walk. There was an entrance fee but it was so cheap I forgot was it was - maybe $5 aus????? Anyway it's worth it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The size of this attraction and trying to imagine how it would have been constructed is a great feature of this site

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“cycling the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cycling the city wall is a great way to get views of the city. It was empty when we did it but scorching hot! Cant remember the price of the bike hire - but you got 100 mins I think and you also had to pay an intial entrance fee to get on the wall. We just about made it all the way around within the time allotted for the bike hire! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.