We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice bike ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 247 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a cool 90 minutes biking on the city walls. There's a lot of smog so the view isn't always perfect.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    729
    159
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was a scorcher of a day when we visited but we hired a double bike ( 100 yuan I think) and set of around the wall it's a 15km bike ride all paved no cars or if your lazy take an electric golf cart bus. You can just ride between corner towers and enjoy regular ice cream breaks at the kiosks along the way. Allow 3 hrs to enjoy but if you just want to get up take a photo and have a shorter stroll an hour would be ok - but you would kick your self later as it's a really interesting walk. There was an entrance fee but it was so cheap I forgot was it was - maybe $5 aus????? Anyway it's worth it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The size of this attraction and trying to imagine how it would have been constructed is a great feature of this site

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“cycling the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cycling the city wall is a great way to get views of the city. It was empty when we did it but scorching hot! Cant remember the price of the bike hire - but you got 100 mins I think and you also had to pay an intial entrance fee to get on the wall. We just about made it all the way around within the time allotted for the bike hire! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit the south gate in the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited the south gate. At this entrance you can try out some chinese games. Furthermore they have some shows at the square. If you have enough time, you can hire a bike and cycle along the wall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.