We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no reason to walk up there at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 247 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Bangkok
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“no reason to walk up there at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

New walls on old space des not make this an attraction, Looks like Chinese Disney Land to me, can not figure out why anybody would like to go up there and see another million cheap red lanterns, the sign of the tourism department all over China. They never had red lamps on the ramparts, so they should not be there nw. Stay away!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    804
    176
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“14 Kilometers of Cool on a Bicycle Built for Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me admit up front - this was a very hot day in July and about halfway through the ride I wished I had rented a golf cart instead, but, I am glad I made the ride. Go early and you can ride the bike and beat the heat and the crowd of other tourists. There are shops and places to stop and buy water, coke, etc., around the wall.

This is the real deal - the ancient city wall of Xi'an and other than the potholes (which I should have been better at avoiding) in the wall pathway, it has been restored wonderfully. This is a true Chinese cultural treasure and worth a few hours of your day before or after the Terra Cotta Warriors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hot as hell but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Cheap admission - but then there isn't much on the other side of the barrier. It is impressive though - you can walk (or hire a bike and cycle) around the entire wall. There are watch towers every so often and refreshment stalls.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful City Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a secret of Xi'an...there should be more said of this attraction. It is wonderfully restored and beautiful when lit up at night. A must have photo op.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great family activity and way to see Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Go early to beat the heat, rent some bicycles and bike the wall. Lots of fun for a few hours. We really enjoyed it !!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.