We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xian City Wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 247 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
calgary
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Xian City Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What an incredible feat of architecture, it is huge. I think my guide said that it is 14klm by slightly less on the sides. The top is very wide, probably.as wide as a street. The whole thing has been really well maintained and the city walls were breached to allow traffic. You can see the mat and where the drawbridge was placed. The interior is able to sustain a small town
Many people were taking the opportunity to cycle round the whole structure, I believe you can leave the bike at certain points on the wall.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    728
    159
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place to spend some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We rented a bike and spend some time cycling all around te wall. I was quite impressed how long the wall was...really took us some time to finish one round. Because of that most time u don't feel crowded, what really seems to be a unique feeling in china.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic cycle at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the top to do in Xi'an city! The city walls are bigger and more well maintained than you'd expect.

It was fantastic cycling at sunset, with beautiful colours in the sky and the temperature being a lot cooler than if we had done it earlier during the day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a quick trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to check out the wall purely because it is the oldest of its kind, which drew me in. We didn't go to top however as it was very expensive, and due to the high pollution levels in the city, the view would definitely not be worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You can drop your cycle at any cycle point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Cycling the Wall is a fun thing to do however the rules are you have to do it in 100 minutes or you forfeit your deposit which means that you have to cycle pretty quickly and don't have a relaxing trip. We dropped our cycles at the cycle point before the one where we picked it up and wasn't a problem to get our deposit back. We were also told that we couldn't hire a bike because we were too old 60yrs+, however on explaining we cycle all the time in NZ they did allow us to hire a bike after all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.