We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City wall on our own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$198*
and up
Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and...
Ranked #3 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 2,286 Reviews
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“City wall on our own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Due to limited time (our own choice) we were given a brief orientation to city wall then left on our own to explore. Everything worked well and when picked up, the tour guide even adjusted her schedule to help negotiate purchase prices. Very pleased with quality and professionalism of service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    879
    193
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rent a bike and take a ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our family loved renting a bike on the wall and riding all thr way around. It is a great way to see the whole wall and only takes about 90 minutes. A must do for anyone who makes the trip to Xi'an!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is almost an indescribable feeling when you stand on the wall. Being the best maintain city wall in China, you could almost imagine what it was like during war time. Such a magnificent structure.

There are bicycles for rent on the wall. It takes 1.5 hour to cycle around it which was very very pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hire a bike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a brilliant day on the Xian city wall! We hired a bike once inside the wall for a very small fee. There are bike stations all along the route so you don't have to do the full 10 miles! Lots of great photo opportunities!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impressing unique city wall in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I would recommend planning some hours to walk on it or rent a bike. It's huge and unique in the world.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.