We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Zhongxin District, Xi'an 710001, China
029-87289791
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #2 of 318 things to do in Xi'an
Attraction details
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“In the heart of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The big acient wall is a nice place to visit and have a relaxing time walking and see the city from above. Every place you go in Xian has a place in history.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,503
    1,063
    237
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Where Am I?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

When we drove through this very thick wall, I felt like I was in Europe, maybe Rome. I did not expect to see this here but it was very interesting and very large.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Love this touristy wall biking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Need ticket 40RMB to go up the Wall and need another 80RMB for a twin bike for 100 minutes. Single bike costs half of that. We had to rush to complete one round and arrived 5 minutes before ending time. Wish they gave 2 hours so we could stop and chat with other travelers longer. We even had to rush when taking pictures as we didn't want to pay for overtime.

There were large connection boards sometimes with different heights and biking up & down was a bit scary for light heart people.

Bring your mini stand so you can self video 2 of you on the bike. Very good memory.

Toilets can be found often on the Wall and they're clean.

View is very good when being up there. Late April and it was cool so wear your light jacket. Very comfortable to bike. Any shoes are fine as it's easy to walk and bike on the Wall. Bring your water bottles.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely old wall but ceremony a little budget disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Got the full works including poem in silk booklet and gold key to the City. The demonstration was only marred by the modern car in the back ground which seemed to appear in all my photos! Juggling plant pots awesome (ouch). Strange feeling as you walk round the city walls with the modern skyscraper flats at every turn, swamping the old town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Rent a bike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

For 40rmb you can rent a bike for 100minutes to cycle around Xi'an's city walls. This is a nice way to explore the walls and the views from it (for example the railway station). There are some boring sections so I would not recommend walking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.