We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Shuyuan Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Staff are friendly and all and all it's a nice hostel but as we went there during winter, it was quite inconvenient especially using the common bathrooms. It was very cold to take shower as the bathroom was in open area. The place of the hostel was a bit hard to find also. Apart from that, the price is cheap and all facilities were provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    83
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
45
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasir Gudang, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm traveling from Datong to Xi'an by Train. Didn't booked any hostel yet when I arrived in Xi'an on the next day. Meet a girl at Datong Train station having the same journey towards Xi'an. It's happen to be this girl is Shuyuan Staff. She hooked me up a room and send me to Shuyuan before headed home. (that's how I found Shuyuan)

Shuyuan is a very cosy hostel with a great ambience. The surroundings are excel with chinese culture. The hostel is really clean and well manage. I've stayed in a double room with a vietnamese friend and stay in one of Shuyuan 4 bed dorm. Both are great and comfortable.

Location. It's beside the south gate of The Great Xi'an city wall. Within walking distance up north you'll find the bell and drum tower, muslim quarter and The Great Xi'an Mosque. The nearest bus stop with a right bus number, it will took you towards Terracota Warrior Site, Xi'an Musuem and Goose pagoda.

Most of all being inside of Xi'an City wall is awesome.
plus a friendly staff from Shuyuan.
(December 2010)

Room Tip: Always check the room and toilet (if you choose to have toilet in your room) before you confirm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Beijing. This really is one awesome hostel. Clean rooms with great showers, a bar with a band on the same premises, great food! Can be a bit noisy, but it is also a great place to meet folks and share travel plans. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great hostel with a very cool, laid back vibe and great location - close to everything. The check in was a little bit annoying as the receptionist didn't have our booking and was very confused and nearly didn't let us in (even though we had the printed confirmation). Our room was a little noisy as there are spaces for people to sit and chat in courtyards - but you expect noise at a hostel. We loved it here and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hostel is in a great location and has a really fab vibe. The staff at reception were the friendliest we have experienced in the whole of our stay in China. We stayed in a double private room and it was a good size. Not the most modern but everything you needed. Bathrooms looked like they had been updated and there was a good shower. The hostel itself has a lovely atmosphere. There are little courtyards with seating areas where you can chill out and chat.
The restaurant is small enough but the food was excellent and reasonably priced. One of the nights we went to the bar which is underneath the hostel. It had a great party atmosphere. Some people have mentioned that they could hear the noise from their rooms but we couldn't. I don't know if thats because of the position our room was in of not. The location of the hostel is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the city walls where you can hire bikes to cycle around.
We only stayed here one night as they were booked out so we moved on to their sister hotel which is the Han Yang House. By far we preferred the Shuyuan Hostel and wished we could of stayed there for the whole of our time in Xi'an

Room Tip: To be sure you are not disturbed by the music from the bar ask for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in 2012. The rooms we had were on the ground floor. They were basic but clean. The hostel had a great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our two teenagers particularly enjoyed the cafe with excellent pizzas and milk shakes. The location is excellent for getting around and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You might not want a room that opens onto the courtyard as it can be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hostel is located right next to the south gate of the city walls. It was easy to find. The room was clean with limited of walking space. Also bathroom comes with hot water. Wifi worked very well inside and outside the room. But with the room costed RMB200 without a TV and a wardrobe, it was totally pricey.

Good things within 10 minutes walk to bell, drum towers and muslim street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Specialty lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shuyuan Youth Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuyuan Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.