We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff & Great Environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Shuyuan Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 94 Specialty lodging in Xi'an
Pasir Gudang, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
“Friendly Staff & Great Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm traveling from Datong to Xi'an by Train. Didn't booked any hostel yet when I arrived in Xi'an on the next day. Meet a girl at Datong Train station having the same journey towards Xi'an. It's happen to be this girl is Shuyuan Staff. She hooked me up a room and send me to Shuyuan before headed home. (that's how I found Shuyuan)

Shuyuan is a very cosy hostel with a great ambience. The surroundings are excel with chinese culture. The hostel is really clean and well manage. I've stayed in a double room with a vietnamese friend and stay in one of Shuyuan 4 bed dorm. Both are great and comfortable.

Location. It's beside the south gate of The Great Xi'an city wall. Within walking distance up north you'll find the bell and drum tower, muslim quarter and The Great Xi'an Mosque. The nearest bus stop with a right bus number, it will took you towards Terracota Warrior Site, Xi'an Musuem and Goose pagoda.

Most of all being inside of Xi'an City wall is awesome.
plus a friendly staff from Shuyuan.
(December 2010)

Room Tip: Always check the room and toilet (if you choose to have toilet in your room) before you confirm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    85
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
47
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Beijing. This really is one awesome hostel. Clean rooms with great showers, a bar with a band on the same premises, great food! Can be a bit noisy, but it is also a great place to meet folks and share travel plans. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great hostel with a very cool, laid back vibe and great location - close to everything. The check in was a little bit annoying as the receptionist didn't have our booking and was very confused and nearly didn't let us in (even though we had the printed confirmation). Our room was a little noisy as there are spaces for people to sit and chat in courtyards - but you expect noise at a hostel. We loved it here and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hostel is in a great location and has a really fab vibe. The staff at reception were the friendliest we have experienced in the whole of our stay in China. We stayed in a double private room and it was a good size. Not the most modern but everything you needed. Bathrooms looked like they had been updated and there was a good shower. The hostel itself has a lovely atmosphere. There are little courtyards with seating areas where you can chill out and chat.
The restaurant is small enough but the food was excellent and reasonably priced. One of the nights we went to the bar which is underneath the hostel. It had a great party atmosphere. Some people have mentioned that they could hear the noise from their rooms but we couldn't. I don't know if thats because of the position our room was in of not. The location of the hostel is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the city walls where you can hire bikes to cycle around.
We only stayed here one night as they were booked out so we moved on to their sister hotel which is the Han Yang House. By far we preferred the Shuyuan Hostel and wished we could of stayed there for the whole of our time in Xi'an

Room Tip: To be sure you are not disturbed by the music from the bar ask for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in 2012. The rooms we had were on the ground floor. They were basic but clean. The hostel had a great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our two teenagers particularly enjoyed the cafe with excellent pizzas and milk shakes. The location is excellent for getting around and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You might not want a room that opens onto the courtyard as it can be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hostel is located right next to the south gate of the city walls. It was easy to find. The room was clean with limited of walking space. Also bathroom comes with hot water. Wifi worked very well inside and outside the room. But with the room costed RMB200 without a TV and a wardrobe, it was totally pricey.

Good things within 10 minutes walk to bell, drum towers and muslim street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hostel had the best atmosphere of all the hotels we've been to up till now. Lots of outdoor seating and a great Western restaurant, so you easily get in contact with other travelers.
Then, the negative points, which for me personally weigh more heavily than the positive ones. It took the cook 40 minutes to prepare 2 meals of french toast... this is very annoying if you are about to go on a tour and already ordered your breakfast... The service is terrible. We ordered soup and the menu said it included 2 pieces of garlic bread. When we didn't receive the garlic bread and talked about it to the waitress she said: there is no garlic bread included (it was black on white on the menu!) and we didn't get it. Next negative point: this hostel has no comfort at all. The beds are really hard (harder than in the other hostels), rooms are very old and there is indeed a lot of noise from the bar until early morning. With noise from the bar I don't mean a little background noise, nono, it was like they were singing right next to our room wall. Don't expect to sleap if you don't have earplugs. The hostel offers them for free, which says it all... When I complained about the noise, the staff told me this (literally):'Then you should have chosen a different hotel to stay in'.

So you should consider what you think is most important: your sleep and comfort or the ease of talking to other people and have Western food very nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 Specialty lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuyuan Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.