We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shuyuan Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hostel is located right next to the south gate of the city walls. It was easy to find. The room was clean with limited of walking space. Also bathroom comes with hot water. Wifi worked very well inside and outside the room. But with the room costed RMB200 without a TV and a wardrobe, it was totally pricey.

Good things within 10 minutes walk to bell, drum towers and muslim street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    85
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
47
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hostel had the best atmosphere of all the hotels we've been to up till now. Lots of outdoor seating and a great Western restaurant, so you easily get in contact with other travelers.
Then, the negative points, which for me personally weigh more heavily than the positive ones. It took the cook 40 minutes to prepare 2 meals of french toast... this is very annoying if you are about to go on a tour and already ordered your breakfast... The service is terrible. We ordered soup and the menu said it included 2 pieces of garlic bread. When we didn't receive the garlic bread and talked about it to the waitress she said: there is no garlic bread included (it was black on white on the menu!) and we didn't get it. Next negative point: this hostel has no comfort at all. The beds are really hard (harder than in the other hostels), rooms are very old and there is indeed a lot of noise from the bar until early morning. With noise from the bar I don't mean a little background noise, nono, it was like they were singing right next to our room wall. Don't expect to sleap if you don't have earplugs. The hostel offers them for free, which says it all... When I complained about the noise, the staff told me this (literally):'Then you should have chosen a different hotel to stay in'.

So you should consider what you think is most important: your sleep and comfort or the ease of talking to other people and have Western food very nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just stayed here for one night in transit. Arrived very late at night due to taxi dramas but was welcomed by english speaking staff who registered me very quickly and showed me straight to my room. room wasn't spick and span but clean enough. beds were Chinese standard, on the smaller size and firm but had a great night sleep. not much noise, wifi great and the staff in the morning were fantastic. downside: after 25hrs of travel i was hanging out for hot shower and freshen up, hot water only runs 7am - 12pm and the room could have been a bit cleaner. I will stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend at the end of March and loved it. The hostel has such a friendly vibe and loads of cute courtyards to relax in and read a book/chat to people/Skype etc. The restaurant was fantastic, food really well priced though the service was a bit slow at times. The hostel offers a couple of different tours (Terracotta warriors, panda sanctuary), we did the Terracotta Warriors one and it was really well organised, our guide was lovely and certainly enthusiastic! A point to note - there is a pub below the hostel and next door so it can be noisy at times on the ground floor...every night at around 10pm we'd hear live music til the early hours of the morning. We didn't really mind this though because the lady singing was pretty good! If you don't like noise at bedtime I'd advise staying on an upper floor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days whilst in Xian, we were greeted by 2 friendly woman at the train station early in the morning. However we found some of the staff at the hotel to be rather unfriendly, somewhat rude and like we were putting them out by asking a question, the bloke at reception was very friendlt though and willing to help.
location is good just up from the markets and resteraunts.
Our room was clean and warm, we had a private double room with bathroom. Reading on TA about the noise issues previously we were a bit nervous but the first night we thought its not so bad the music was off by about 10pm. The next night thursday night it kept going till 2am. The next night we decided we may as well join in if we wernt going to get sny sleep anyway. Be warned! The shots here are very cheap (in aussie terms anyway) ¥100 for 15 shots...things can get messy! Dont bother too much with the cafe at the hotel, its grosley over priced as is all western food in China and the big breakfast was rather dissapointing.
I think we would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the hostel for one night, in a private double room with ensuite bathroom. The room was ok, although the matresses were quite hard, and there was a slightly bad smell coming from the bathroom. Nevertheless, the value for money is very good, and the rooms are what you could expect from a hostel. The personnel, all speaking English well, is very friendly, and it was a real pleasure to have a drink in the attached traveller's bar. And you get a voucher for a free welcome drink :-). We also took our breakfast there and ate a pizza, both of which were very good.
The hostel is very easy to reach by bus: just follow the directions given on their website.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here January. It was fine. I don't recall anything special about the hostel, but all was well. It's in a good location, just off the city wall and near good bus routes. We were collected from the railway station (for free). We had vouchers for beer every evening as well.

Room Tip: The toilet near us was the usual hole in the floor, but there are "western style" toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuyuan Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.