We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Shu you'll have a good time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Shuyuan Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 Specialty lodging in Xi'an
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I'm Shu you'll have a good time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend at the end of March and loved it. The hostel has such a friendly vibe and loads of cute courtyards to relax in and read a book/chat to people/Skype etc. The restaurant was fantastic, food really well priced though the service was a bit slow at times. The hostel offers a couple of different tours (Terracotta warriors, panda sanctuary), we did the Terracotta Warriors one and it was really well organised, our guide was lovely and certainly enthusiastic! A point to note - there is a pub below the hostel and next door so it can be noisy at times on the ground floor...every night at around 10pm we'd hear live music til the early hours of the morning. We didn't really mind this though because the lady singing was pretty good! If you don't like noise at bedtime I'd advise staying on an upper floor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    85
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
45
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days whilst in Xian, we were greeted by 2 friendly woman at the train station early in the morning. However we found some of the staff at the hotel to be rather unfriendly, somewhat rude and like we were putting them out by asking a question, the bloke at reception was very friendlt though and willing to help.
location is good just up from the markets and resteraunts.
Our room was clean and warm, we had a private double room with bathroom. Reading on TA about the noise issues previously we were a bit nervous but the first night we thought its not so bad the music was off by about 10pm. The next night thursday night it kept going till 2am. The next night we decided we may as well join in if we wernt going to get sny sleep anyway. Be warned! The shots here are very cheap (in aussie terms anyway) ¥100 for 15 shots...things can get messy! Dont bother too much with the cafe at the hotel, its grosley over priced as is all western food in China and the big breakfast was rather dissapointing.
I think we would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the hostel for one night, in a private double room with ensuite bathroom. The room was ok, although the matresses were quite hard, and there was a slightly bad smell coming from the bathroom. Nevertheless, the value for money is very good, and the rooms are what you could expect from a hostel. The personnel, all speaking English well, is very friendly, and it was a real pleasure to have a drink in the attached traveller's bar. And you get a voucher for a free welcome drink :-). We also took our breakfast there and ate a pizza, both of which were very good.
The hostel is very easy to reach by bus: just follow the directions given on their website.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here January. It was fine. I don't recall anything special about the hostel, but all was well. It's in a good location, just off the city wall and near good bus routes. We were collected from the railway station (for free). We had vouchers for beer every evening as well.

Room Tip: The toilet near us was the usual hole in the floor, but there are "western style" toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid (Spain)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on September 2012. The hotel is located at the south gate of the city about 10 minutes walk away from the Bell Tower. The staff is friendly and speak English.

We booked a twin room with ensuite bathroom with western-style toilet and a shower. There was no curtain or shower glass door so the whole floor was wet after shower. There were no ammenities provided and you had to pay to borrow a towel. Our room was really ugly with a little tv, air conditioner and a window on the corridor so i had to keep the curtains close all the time and the room was really dark. It was also very noisy at night.

There was a big pub in the lower floor. There were many cocktails and shots served. In my opinion that was the only good place in this hostel. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to party and meet travellers but if you want to rest its not the best choice.

The breakfast was not included in our room rate. They served different kinds of breakfast menus for reasonable prices.

The reception area was nice, with computers for use paying a little cost, and free water available.

They have free luggage storage in a room.

A taxi to the airport could cost around 150 RMB and they offer a free pick up service on the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I will be forever grateful to the young man at the front desk who was able to secure us two soft sleeper train tickets to Chengdu after the guy at the Beijing train station said there were none available. The staff in general were very helpful, friendly, and spoke good English. The location of the hotel is also a plus - 5 minute walk to the City Wall, 10 minute walk to the Bell Tower, 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants, 15 minute walk to the Mosque and street markets. We also did the Terra Cotta Warrior tour through the hostel which we enjoyed.

I would stay there again if ever in Xi'an, but am taking one star off for spotty WiFi and hot water.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel is amazing. The best I have visited in China - - - actually the best I have every visited!

The tours provided are great value for money, and excellent fun! I took the Terracotta Warriors tour strait after I arrived at the hostel. It was awesome!

Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - - - there is a really fun vibe. The bar down stairs is patronised by locals, expats and travellers. It is not noisy because it is underground.

I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm on the very top floor - - - - it was sort of on the roof! Really so much atmosphere in this place.

Great location on the city wall.

Yum food & coffee. Excellent bunch of travellers coming through all the time.

Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice - peaceful & quiet. Bathroom is outside though - so may be cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 91 Specialty lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuyuan Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.