We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad place to rest, really noisy and ugly rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Shuyuan Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid (Spain)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bad place to rest, really noisy and ugly rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on September 2012. The hotel is located at the south gate of the city about 10 minutes walk away from the Bell Tower. The staff is friendly and speak English.

We booked a twin room with ensuite bathroom with western-style toilet and a shower. There was no curtain or shower glass door so the whole floor was wet after shower. There were no ammenities provided and you had to pay to borrow a towel. Our room was really ugly with a little tv, air conditioner and a window on the corridor so i had to keep the curtains close all the time and the room was really dark. It was also very noisy at night.

There was a big pub in the lower floor. There were many cocktails and shots served. In my opinion that was the only good place in this hostel. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to party and meet travellers but if you want to rest its not the best choice.

The breakfast was not included in our room rate. They served different kinds of breakfast menus for reasonable prices.

The reception area was nice, with computers for use paying a little cost, and free water available.

They have free luggage storage in a room.

A taxi to the airport could cost around 150 RMB and they offer a free pick up service on the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    83
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
45
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I will be forever grateful to the young man at the front desk who was able to secure us two soft sleeper train tickets to Chengdu after the guy at the Beijing train station said there were none available. The staff in general were very helpful, friendly, and spoke good English. The location of the hotel is also a plus - 5 minute walk to the City Wall, 10 minute walk to the Bell Tower, 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants, 15 minute walk to the Mosque and street markets. We also did the Terra Cotta Warrior tour through the hostel which we enjoyed.

I would stay there again if ever in Xi'an, but am taking one star off for spotty WiFi and hot water.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel is amazing. The best I have visited in China - - - actually the best I have every visited!

The tours provided are great value for money, and excellent fun! I took the Terracotta Warriors tour strait after I arrived at the hostel. It was awesome!

Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - - - there is a really fun vibe. The bar down stairs is patronised by locals, expats and travellers. It is not noisy because it is underground.

I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm on the very top floor - - - - it was sort of on the roof! Really so much atmosphere in this place.

Great location on the city wall.

Yum food & coffee. Excellent bunch of travellers coming through all the time.

Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice - peaceful & quiet. Bathroom is outside though - so may be cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fun atmosphere, great location, fantastic value for money at any age. The best part was the cafe on the premises, which was extremely cozy and wonderful to meet people. (though it was a little noisy at night with the thin walls). But I actually travelled in June 2011, not October.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great hostel within the walls of Xi'an. The location is slightly off center, located just south of the old town, inside the walls. A ten minute walk to the Bell Tower. The metro station is five minutes away, and buses to three minutes. It offers free pick-up from the train station. The hostel is very nice, cozy and clean. At guests' disposal there is a common room and several tables and chairs in the courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The bar/restaurant inside is very good, both for the breakfast and meals (the menu is well stocked with european specialties). The ground floor rooms are very comfortable, but a little more "in touch" with people outside and this slightly noisy. Inside the room there is TV, air conditioning and a bathroom with a large shower. It offers a free luggage storage and there's free wi-fi, although not perfectly present in the entire hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights.Our first impression of this hostel was fabulous,excellent location,gorgeous decoration(Chinese classic style),good service of reception,complimentary coffee as welcome drink.At first,It exceed our expectation.

We booked a double room,it was OK,the price was reasonable.At the first night,we slept well,perhaps both of us were too tired.

Unfortunately,at the following 3 nights,I could not sleep quickly,because it was too noisy in the hostel!There was a bar under the hostel,it would open to late at night,the drunkards would walk around in the hostel and yell,they made suck a noise,but no staff stop them!Just drunkards' friend asked them to stop yelling,then it was quiet for a few seconds,but later,they yelled again and again!That was horrible!!!

If you could sleep well in noisy surrounding,perhaps this hostel is a good place for you! If you cannot,it is absolutely not the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't stay here unless you want to lie awake in your bed until 2:30 a.m. each night, pay more for less, and take lousy tours (at least to Hua Shan). All the positive reviews really surprise me, as our experience was not positive at all.

Where to begin. The biggest issue is the bar located right under the place. It plays loud music that will keep you up at night (even with earplugs) unless you plan to drink yourself to sleep. This is particularly true for the second of the three courtyards at Shuyuan. Most nights drunken patrons also spilled out into the courtyard talking loudly for a while after bar closing. Furthermore, the bar doesn't really add to the atmosphere at Shuyuan as far as I could tell; the two times I stuck my head in it was packed with locals but no foreigners to chat with.

Neither is Shuyuan a good value. We paid 180 yuan for a double. The room was adequate and clean, but nothing to write home about. They also only turn on the hot water between 8:00 a.m. and noon, which seemed unnecessarily stingy given this price (we paid similar prices elsewhere during our stay for nicer rooms, and never had our hot water supply restricted). The restaurant in back is good, but also expensive. We had to consistently go up to the staff persons messing with there smartphones when we wanted to order despite no other patrons being present to occupy their time.

The staff at the front desk were OK, a few girls were friendly but most of the guys were not. Furthermore, the tour we were sold to Hua Shan was terrible (I strongly recommend you go elsewhere to book it). They stuck us on a bus with a bunch of domestic tourists and a non-English speaking tour guide. The bus then parked in a dirt lot far from the Hua Shan entrance and the Chinese tour guide handed us a poorly written note about how to catch several buses to the entrance and then back again at the end of the day. When things inevitably went wrong because one of the buses dropped us off in the wrong place and the bus driver refused to budge once there, we almost got left at Hua Shan.

The best thing was probably Shuyuan's location: right next to the old city walls near the South Gate. This, however, does not make up for all the shortcomings described above. If I ever get back to Xi'an, I would rather sleep on the street than at Shuyuan again. Alright, I am exaggerating a little. But I am not exaggerating a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Specialty lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shuyuan Youth Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuyuan Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.